(5/6) Deforestation in Madagascar and the massive Makay

After initiating in 2018 a Beekeeping Pilot, Naturevolution start a reforestation project near the villages of Makay: 1 Million trees for the Makay. But we could start this project without you explain this autumn how it fits in both a specific local context and in a worrying global context. Through 6 items we take stock of the current state of deforestation, commitments and actions initiated by the different governments, reforestation initiatives in terms especially in Madagascar and finally the possible actions to your scale to fight against deforestation . An entire program !

Deforestation in Madagascar

Madagascar has experienced in 60 years a major loss and fragmentation of forests, with a decrease of nearly 44% of its forest cover (source : Vieilledent et al. 2018). More worryingly, this deforestation is rapidly accelerating.

According to Global Forest Watch, in 2017, Madagascar is the fourth country in terms of deforestation class with 510 000 hectares destroyed in one yearOr the loss of 3.8% of forests in Madagascar (48.5 times the area of ​​Paris!).

If massif Makay

Makay massif The forests cover 15,000 hectares and are home to species that are unique. Bush fires triggered on the perimeter of the massive spread to the deepest canyons, and poaching (animal or vegetable) comes affect endangered species. So since 2001, the New Protected Area of ​​Makay lost 577 hectares of forest cover (Analysis performed on Global Forest Watch).

Madagascar is known as one of the 35 biodiversity hotspots in the world and a global priority in terms of nature conservation. The present island high biodiversity but faces strong anthropogenic pressures. Among the last natural refuges Malagasy still little explored and exploited, the Makay massif is a singular case. We are listed 1406 animals and plants in recent years, including 90 new to science. Makay attractions include 283 endangered species, 5 "in critical danger of extinction".

The drill Menapanda, Makay massif
Forest Menapanda is the largest of the Makay. Makay Massif, Madagascar

The origin of forest fires the Makay

These lights can be of different origin. Sébastien Bihan, Naturevolution trainee in 2017, proposes a description of these lights in his Ethnographic Report on populations is Makay :

Bushfires - The bushfires are generally made on grazing land. The owners of zebu set fire to brush their grazing lands to the ash resulting provide fertile soil in which can push the green shoots which zebu feed afterwards. These fires usually occur between the months of November and December at the beginning of the rainy season. The first rains will allow seedlings to emerge.

→ Learn more abouttribe of Bara breeders South and Makay their relationship to the zebu

Cleaning lights - Crop fires can be cleaning fires. The fire is thus lit around the fields to burn the invasive vegetation and to keep away the beasts and predators. Firewalls are then used (usually a weeded area) but only around the field.

The fat - It happens that a farmer lets fallow land grow on a rice field that he no longer uses for various reasons: for example because it no longer received enough water (rain or irrigation) , or because its owner was afraid of seeing his plantations destroyed by locusts, or more simply because he did not need them. If he decides to use this wasteland again, or gives or sells it to someone who wants to use it, they will set the plot on fire to clear it while fertilizing it with the ashes. .

Bush fire in the massive Makay

Forest fires - In other cases, fire is used on an area that was previously occupied by forest. The cultivator who seeks to cultivate this area will first cut down the trees and then wait for them to dry, after which he sets them on fire. Contrary to Exhibition “Makay, a refuge in Malagasy land” at the Musée des Confluences which clears plots that have already been created but abandoned, this slash-and-burn technique clears the forest. The ash is more important, and the land temporarily more fertile, which allows to have good yields during the first two years of cultivation and to grow crops other than rice, in particular the cultivation of slash-and-burn corn, which is very profitable. short-term and generating income that other alternative and more sustainable sectors (beekeeping, tourism) could not achieve [15].
However after the first two or three years, the yield drops sharply (it would be halved every year approximately), until the earth becomes too poor for them to crop.

The fire Dahalo - Fires are sometimes triggered directly inside the massif the Dahalo (Zebu thieves) who will use this method to create a passage stolen herd and thus hide inside the mountains.

Pyromania - The destruction of the forest by fire sometimes uses no rational or ancestral tradition, it is an act of arson.

Makay Canyon after the passage of a bush fire (2017). © Arnaud Zumstein / Naturevolution

The use of fire in agriculture is well known in Madagascar. So it is with farmers and ranchers need to work to try to reduce them. This is what we offer through reforestation project around the villagesWhich joins the development of beekeepingOur work onecotourism and our environmental awareness activities.

Farmers are often seen as enemies of forests. They may yet be the fastest and easiest to increase tree cover and absorb carbon in the soil.

Our Partners

This reforestation project is supported by Maltem

Initial funding to the tune of € 10,000 was obtained from Ermada - Sale of Malagasy handicraftsEnabling the launch of 1 Million trees for the Makay. Maltem is an ecosystem of specialized consulting companies in the digital transformation and sustainable innovation, and a partner of Naturevolution since 2016.

The entire series of articles

An article proposed by Gaëtan Deltour and Yann Bigant

Learn more about this project

Reforest the periphery of the New Protected Area of ​​Makay

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + sept =

(5/6) La déforestation à Madagascar et dans le massif du Makay

Après avoir initié en 2018 un projet pilote d’apiculture, Naturevolution démarre un projet de reboisement à proximité des villages du Makay : les forêts villageoises. Mais nous ne pouvions lancer ce projet sans vous expliquer cette rentrée comment celui-ci s’inscrit à la fois dans un contexte local précis et dans un contexte global préoccupant. À travers 6 articles nous faisons le point sur l’état actuel de la déforestation, des engagements ou actions initiés par les différents gouvernements, des initiatives en terme de reboisement en particulier à Madagascar et enfin des actions possibles à votre échelle pour lutter contre la déforestation. Tout un programme !

La déforestation à Madagascar

Madagascar a connu ces 60 dernières années une importante disparition et fragmentation de ses forêts, avec une diminution de près de 44% de sa couverture forestière (source : Vieilledent et al. 2018). Plus préoccupant encore, cette déforestation est en forte accélération.

D’après Global Forest Watch, en 2017, Madagascar se classe 4ème pays en terme de déforestation avec 510 000 hectares détruits en une année, soit la disparition de 3,8% des forêts à Madagascar (48,5 fois la surface de Paris !).

Le cas du massif du Makay

Les forêts du massif du Makay s’étendent sur 15 000 hectares et abritent des espèces qui lui sont uniques. Les feux de brousse déclenchés sur le pourtour du massif se propagent jusqu’aux plus profonds des canyons, et le braconnage (animal ou végétal) vient affecter des espèces menacées. Ainsi depuis 2001, la Nouvelle Aire Protégée du Makay a perdu 577 hectares de couverture forestière (analyse réalisée sur Global Forest Watch).

Madagascar est connue comme l’un des 35 hotspots de biodiversité de la planète et une priorité mondiale en terme de protection de la nature. L’île présente une biodiversité élevée mais fait face à de fortes pressions anthropiques. Parmi les derniers refuges naturels malgaches, encore peu explorés et exploités, le massif du Makay est un cas singulier. On y a répertorié 1406 espèces animales et végétales ces dernières années, dont 90 nouvelles pour la science. Le Makay abrite notamment 283 espèces menacées, dont 5 « en danger critique d’extinction ».

La foret de Menapanda, massif du Makay

La forêt de Menapanda est la plus vaste du Makay. Massif du Makay, Madagascar

L’origine des feux de forêt du Makay

Ces feux peuvent être d’origine différente. Sébastien Bihan, stagiaire de Naturevolution en 2017, nous propose une description de ces feux dans son Rapport ethnographique sur les populations de l’est Makay :

Les feux de brousse – Ces feux de brousse sont généralement réalisés sur des terres de pâturage. Les propriétaires de zébus mettent le feu aux broussailles de leurs terres de pâturages afin que les cendres qui en résultent constituent un terreau fertile dans lequel puissent repousser des jeunes pousses vertes dont les zébus se nourrissent par la suite. Ces feux ont lieu généralement entre les mois de novembre et décembre en début de saison des pluies. Les premières pluies permettront aux jeunes pousses de voir le jour.

→  En savoir plus sur l’ethnie des éleveurs Bara du Sud Makay et leur relation au zébu

Les feux de nettoyage – Les feux concernant les cultures peuvent être des feux de nettoyage. Le feu est ainsi allumé autour des champs pour brûler la végétation envahissante et éloigner les bêtes et prédateurs. Sont alors utilisés des pare-feux (en général une zone sarclée) mais seulement autour du champ.

Le tavy – Il arrive qu’un cultivateur laisse pousser des friches sur une rizière qu’il n’utilise plus pour des raisons qui peuvent être diverses : par exemple parce qu’elle ne recevait plus assez d’eau (de pluie ou d’irrigation), ou bien parce que son propriétaire avait peur de voir ses plantations détruites par les criquets, ou plus simplement parce qu’il n’en avait pas besoin. S’il décide d’utiliser à nouveau cette parcelle en friche, ou qu’il la donne ou la vend à quelqu’un qui souhaite l’utiliser, ils mettront le feu à la parcelle pour la défricher tout en la fertilisant grâce aux cendres.

Feu de brousse dans le massif du Makay

Les feux de forêt – Dans d’autres cas, le feu est utilisé sur une zone qui était occupée par de la forêt. Le cultivateur qui cherche à cultiver cette zone va d’abord couper les arbres puis attendre qu’ils sèchent, après quoi il y met le feu. Contrairement au tavy qui défriche des parcelles déjà créées mais laissées à l’abandon, cette technique de culture sur brûlis défriche elle la forêt. Les cendres sont plus importantes, et la terre provisoirement plus fertile, ce qui permet d’avoir de bons rendements pendant les deux premières années de culture et de faire d’autres cultures que du riz, notamment la culture de maïs sur brûlis, très rémunératrice à court-terme et génératrice de revenus que d’autres filières alternatives et plus durables (apiculture, tourisme) ne pourraient atteindre [15].
Néanmoins à la suite des deux ou trois premières années, le rendement baisse fortement (il serait divisé par deux chaque année environ), jusqu’à ce que la terre devienne trop pauvre pour y faire des cultures.

Les feux des Dahalo – Des feux sont parfois déclenchés directement à l’intérieur du massif par les Dahalo (voleurs de zébus) qui vont utiliser cette méthode pour créer un passage au troupeau volé et ainsi le cacher à l’intérieur du massif.

Pyromanie – La destruction de la forêt par le feu ne fait parfois appel à aucune tradition rationnelle ou ancestrale, il s’agit d’acte de pyromanie.

Canyon du Makay après le passage d’un feu de brousse (2017). © Arnaud Zumstein / Naturevolution

L’utilisation du feu en agriculture est un fait bien connu à Madagascar. C’est donc avec les agriculteurs et les éleveurs qu’il faut travailler pour tenter de les réduire. C’est ce que nous proposons à travers le projet de reboisement autour des villages, qui vient rejoindre le développement de l’apiculture, notre travail sur l’écotourisme et nos activités pédagogiques.

Les agriculteurs sont souvent considérés comme les ennemis des forêts. Ils peuvent pourtant constituer la solution la plus rapide et la plus facile pour accroître le couvert arboré et absorber le carbone dans le sol.

Nos partenaires

Ce projet de reboisement est soutenu par MaltemUn premier financement à hauteur de 10.000€ a été obtenu auprès de Maltem, permettant le lancement du projet Forêts villageoises. Maltem est un écosystème de sociétés de conseil spécialisées dans la transformation digitale et l’innovation durable, et un partenaire de Naturevolution depuis 2016.

Toute la série d’articles

Un article proposé par Gaëtan Deltour et Yann Bigant

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

douze − dix =