(6/6) Why protect forests Makay?

After initiating in 2018 a beekeeping pilot project ("Miel du Makay"), Naturevolution start a reforestation project near the villages of Makay: "1 million trees for the Makay". But we could start this project without you explain this autumn how it fits in both a specific local context and in a worrying global context. Through 6 items we take stock of the current state of deforestation, commitments and actions initiated by the different governments, reforestation initiatives in terms especially in Madagascar and finally the possible actions to your scale to fight against deforestation . An entire program !

Makay Massif forest in Madagascar

Protect forests?

It may seem obvious. But when you have to choose between, on the one hand, practices inherited from tradition, which provide an admittedly low but daily income, and whose negative impacts are hardly noticeable in the short term, and, on the other hand, a strategy of protection of forests for the benefit of all in the long term, but that requires changing entrenched habits (Eg, those regularly trigger lights or conduct herds of zebu in forestés massive canyons), it is good to do inventory ecosystem services provided by forestsWhich are all reasons to protect them.

It is easier to realize the benefits of forests to communities along the Makay when we see the damage caused by their disappearance : Silting of rice, decreased rainfall in dry season, lack of food resources during lean periods. And, like any large area forestée, forests of the massif also of great service regional and global levels.

Getting light of ecosystem services provided by forests with sustainable development objectives. CLIC on the image to see it bigger.

Forest products

Forests can be considered - from a utilitarian point of view - as a vast renewable resource pool for providing energy, food, medicines and materials: trees provide timber, the other heating and cooking wood or fruit, while their cover can house plants and shrubs providing medicinal plants, berries and other tubers. The forests are also home to native animals and invasive, it is legal to hunt or illegal poaching ...

Lémurien Sifaka
Sifaka lemur in the massive Makay, an animal still poached.

Protection against soil erosion / fertility

Deforestation weakens soils. The presence of a forest on a soil tends to make that soil not only richer in organic matter, but also more resistant to erosion thanks to the roots of the trees which hold the surface layer of the soil in place.

As a result, when a forest area is destroyed, the soil structure is weakened and it presents a risk of being washed away by inclement weather. The previously forested land thus loses its fertility, and the ecosystem becomes more vulnerable to natural disastersSuch as landslides or floods. The villages located on the periphery of Makay and therefore downstream watercourses suffer directly the consequences of erosion: the rice fields located along rivers are found in raw silted in rainy season and lose performance.

A lavaka du Makay, Madagascar

A local and regional water tower

Forests play an essential role in the water cycle. A shaft break daily 4000 liters of water by evapotranspiration, resulting in the formation of clouds. These clouds can then end blocked by a mountain range that triggers precipitation.

The Makay is a strategic site when it comes to water: at the origin of an important hydrographic network, it supplies water throughout the year to a large part of western Madagascar. It turns out that at the intersection of 3 large watersheds : the Maharivo and Morodave basins to the west, the Mangoky basin to the south, and the Sakeny basin, a tributary of the Tsiribihina, to the east. The Makay river in particular, located on the south-eastern slope of the massif, is a tributary of the right bank of the Mangoky river litt. " black water ”(2nd largest river in Madagascar) and drains part of the eponymous massif, in particular that comprising the largest forests.

Makay hydrographic system map

An extremely rich biological habitat

Forests are true refuges and reservoirs of biodiversity. Makay, although located in western Madagascar rather favorable to the dry forest, home to canyons in the tropical forests similar to those in the east of the island. Madagascar has experienced a devastating deforestationIt is imperative to protect the remaining forests and all the wildlife they harbor, part of which is unique to Madagascar or the Makay.

The fauna and flora of the Makay

It is also better protect existing forests, rather than hoping replant them in the future. And reforestation offers amazing opportunitiesIt also has serious limitations, and actively recreate biodiversity-rich forests is not an easy task!

As for natural regeneration, it is extremely slow : a new study studied the regeneration of forests on abandoned agricultural land. If 50 years are needed to find the number of species in old forests (which makes secondary forest species worthy of protection shelters) it takes centuries before their composition resembles that of ancient forests. The French botanist Francis HalléWhose books are a pleasure to read, estimated 700 years the time required for a full cut rainforest rebirth from the ashes and regains its state primary. The process is related in the beautiful film " There was a forest ».

A source of new sustainable income

A massive splendid showing healthy forests can generate income from sustainable economic activities such asecotourism andapicultureThat Naturevolution encourages and helps to develop the villages. It is in this sense that the beauty and richness of Makay and forests are key to both its protection and better living river communities.

An asset in the climate crisis

Trees absorb and store CO2, and ancient forests are great carbon sinks. Deforestation not only reduces the capacity to store CO2, but worse, it is itself a major cause of the climate crisis, and not the least: according to IPCC, Deforestation is responsible for 12% of CO2 emissions.

Canyon moist forest massif Makay in Madagascar
Canyon moist forest massif Makay in Madagascar.

Our strategy to protect the forests of Makay

To reduce human pressures, including deforestation in the mountains while improving the living conditions of local communities, develops Naturevolution a holistic management strategy of New Protected Area of ​​Makay. She articulates next several interconnected areas:

  • The development of sustainable economic activities directly linked with healthy ecosystems (beekeeping, ecotourism)
  • The social development, Through education (schools), but also the improvement of living conditions (food, materials, health)
  • Finally, reducing the impact of the massive, through awareness raising (of the role of the forest and the danger of fires) and the reduction of wood harvesting (for example, via alternative cooking methods to replace open hearths) or of animals carried out in the massif.
Educational activities with the children of Makay
Educational activities with the children of Makay

Launch of the Village Forest Project

It is within the framework of this strategy that Naturevolution is launching the village forests. This project aims to replant forests for the direct benefit of the villagers at the level of degraded buffer zones located between the villages and the massif.

Reforestation will target species allowing meet basic needs and improve living conditions. The well developed plots will contribute to the local power supply, provide firewood, building and cooking, and also contain honey and medicinal plants. The proximity of plots reforested with the villages will also save time and effort compared to the villagers of samples taken in several hours of walking in the mountains, and their use will allow communities to train for sustainable forest management.

The project started in spring 2019 in four pilot villages, each with a nursery with a goal for the end of 2019 18 000 plants per nursery, or 72 hectares can be reforested.

Nursery for reforestation, Makay Massif, Madagascar
A first project nurseries Forestry vilageoises launched in 2019.

Our Partners

Initial funding to the tune of € 10,000 was obtained from Ermada - Sale of Malagasy handicraftsEnabling the launch of 1 Million trees project for the Makay. Maltem is an ecosystem of specialized consulting companies in the digital transformation and sustainable innovation, and a partner of Naturevolution since 2016.

The entire series of articles

An article proposed by Gaëtan Deltour and Yann Bigant

Learn more about this project

Reforest the periphery of the New Protected Area of ​​Makay

2 thoughts on "(6/6) Why protect forests Makay?»

(6/6) Pourquoi protéger les forêts du Makay ?

Après avoir initié en 2018 un projet pilote d’apiculture, Naturevolution démarre un projet de reboisement à proximité des villages du Makay : les forêts villageoises. Mais nous ne pouvions lancer ce projet sans vous expliquer cette rentrée comment celui-ci s’inscrit à la fois dans un contexte local précis et dans un contexte global préoccupant. À travers 6 articles nous faisons le point sur l’état actuel de la déforestation, des engagements ou actions initiés par les différents gouvernements, des initiatives en terme de reboisement en particulier à Madagascar et enfin des actions possibles à votre échelle pour lutter contre la déforestation. Tout un programme !

Forêt du massif du Makay à Madagascar

Protéger les forêts ?

Cela peut sembler une évidence. Mais quand il faut choisir entre, d’un côté des pratiques héritées de la tradition, qui fournissent un revenu certes faible mais quotidien, et dont les impacts négatifs sont peu perceptibles à court terme, et, de l’autre une stratégie de protection des forêts au bénéfice de tous sur le long terme, mais qui requiert de changer des habitudes bien ancrées (par exemple, celles de déclencher régulièrement des feux ou de mener les troupeaux de zébus dans les canyons forestés du massif), il est bon de faire l’inventaire des services écosystémiques rendus par les forêts, qui sont autant de raisons de les protéger.

Il est plus aisé de se rendre compte des bénéfices apportés par les forêts aux communautés riveraines du Makay quand on constate les dégâts causés par leur disparition : ensablement des rizières, diminution des précipitations en saison sèche, manque de ressources alimentaires durant les périodes de soudure. Et, comme toute vaste zone forestée, les forêts du massif rendent également de grands services aux niveaux régional et global.

Mise en regard des services écosystémiques rendus par les forêts avec les objectifs du développement durable. Cliquer sur l’image pour la voir en grand.

Les produits de la forêt

Les forêts peuvent être considérées – d’un point de vue utilitariste – comme un vaste réservoir de ressources renouvelables permettant de fournir énergie, alimentation, matériaux et médicaments : des arbres fournissent du bois de construction, d’autres du bois de chauffage et de cuisson, ou encore des fruits, tandis que leur couvert permet d’abriter plantes et arbustes fournissant plantes médicinales, baies et autres tubercules. Les forêts abritent également animaux natifs et invasifs, qu’il est légal de chasser ou illégal de braconner…

Lémurien Sifaka

Lémurien Sifaka dans le massif du Makay, un animal encore braconné.

Une protection contre l’érosion / fertilité des sols

La déforestation fragilise les sols. La présence d’une forêt sur un sol tend à rendre ce sol non seulement plus riche en matière organique, mais aussi plus résistant à l’érosion grâce aux racines des arbres qui tiennent en place la couche superficielle du sol.

De ce fait, lorsqu’un espace forestier est détruit, la structure du sol est fragilisée et il présente un risque d’être emporté par les intempéries. Le terrain précédemment foresté perd ainsi de sa fertilité, et l’écosystème devient plus vulnérable aux catastrophes naturelles, comme les glissements de terrain ou les inondations. Les villages situés sur le pourtour du Makay et donc en aval des cours d’eaux subissent directement les conséquences de l’érosion : les rizières situées en bordure des rivières se retrouvent ensablées lors des crus en saison des pluies et perdent en rendement.

Un lavaka du Makay, Madagascar

Un château d’eau local et régional

Les forêts jouent un rôle essentiel dans le cycle de l’eau. Un arbre relâche chaque jour 4000 litres d’eau par evapotranspiration, entraînant la formation de nuages. Ces nuages peuvent ensuite se retrouver bloqués par une chaîne de montagne qui déclenche les précipitations.

Le Makay est un site stratégique lorsqu’il est question d’eau : à l’origine d’un important réseau hydrographique, il alimente en eau tout au long de l’année une grande partie de l’ouest malgache. Il se trouve à l’intersection de 3 grands bassins-versants : les bassins Maharivo et Morodave à l’ouest, le bassin de la Mangoky au sud, et le bassin de la Sakeny, affluent de la Tsiribihina, à l’est. La rivière Makay notamment, située sur le versant sud-est du massif, est un affluent de la rive droite du fleuve Mangoky litt. « aux eaux noires » (2ème plus grand fleuve de Madagascar) et draine une partie du massif éponyme, notamment celle comprenant les plus grandes forêts.

Carte du système hydrographique du Makay

Un habitat biologique extrêmement riche

Les forêts sont de véritables refuges et réservoirs de biodiversité. Le Makay, bien que situé dans l’ouest de Madagascar plutôt propice à la forêt sèche, abrite dans ses canyons des forêts tropicales similaires à celles de l’est de l’île. Madagascar ayant connu une déforestation dévastatrice, il est impératif de protéger les forêts qui restent et toute la faune et la flore qu’elles abritent, dont une partie est unique de Madagascar, voire du Makay.

La faune et la flore du Makay

Il vaut mieux également protéger les forêts existantes, plutôt que d’espérer les replanter dans le futur. Si le reboisement offre d’incroyables opportunités, il présente aussi de sérieuses limites, et recréer activement des forêts riches en biodiversité n’est pas une mince affaire !

Quant à la régénération naturelle, elle est extrêmement lente : une nouvelle étude a étudié la régénération des forêts sur des terres agricoles abandonnées. Si 50 années sont nécessaires pour retrouver le nombre d’espèces présentes dans les forêts anciennes (ce qui fait des forêts secondaires des refuges d’espèces dignes de protection), il faut des siècles avant que leur composition ne ressemble à celle des forêts anciennes. Le botaniste français Francis Hallé, dont les livres sont un réel plaisir à lire, estime à 700 ans la durée nécessaire pour qu’une forêt tropicale intégralement coupée renaissance de ses cendres et retrouve son état ‘primaire’. Le processus est raconté dans le très beau film « Il était une forêt ».

Une source de nouveaux revenus durables

Un splendide massif présentant des forêts en bonne santé permet de générer des revenus issus d’activités économiques durables comme l’écotourisme et l’apiculture, que Naturevolution encourage et aide à développer dans les villages. C’est en ce sens que la beauté et la richesse du Makay et de ses forêts sont la clé à la fois de sa protection et du mieux-vivre des communautés riveraines.

Un atout dans la crise climatique

Les arbres absorbent et stockent du CO2, et les forêts anciennes sont de formidables puits de carbone. La déforestation réduit non seulement cette capacité à stocker du CO2, mais pire encore, elle est elle-même une cause majeure de la crise climatique, et pas la moindre : d’après le GIEC, la déforestation serait à l’origine de 12% des émissions de CO2.

Canyon forestier humide du massif du Makay à Madagascar

Canyon forestier humide du massif du Makay à Madagascar.

Notre stratégie pour protéger les forêts du Makay

Afin de réduire les pressions anthropiques, et notamment la déforestation, dans le massif tout en améliorant les conditions de vie des communautés locales, Naturevolution développe une stratégie holistique de gestion de la Nouvelle Aire Protégée du Makay. Elle s’articule suivant plusieurs axes interconnectés :

  • Le développement d’activités économiques durables directement en lien avec des écosystèmes en bonne santé (apiculture, écotourisme),
  • Le développement social, à travers l’éducation (écoles), mais aussi l’amélioration des conditions de vie (alimentation, matériaux, santé),
  • Enfin, la réduction des impacts sur le massif, à travers la sensibilisation (au rôle de la forêt et au danger des feux) et à la réduction des prélèvements de bois (par exemple, via des méthodes alternatives de cuisson pour remplacer les foyers ouverts) ou d’animaux effectués dans le massif.
Activités pédagogiques avec les enfants du Makay

Activités pédagogiques avec les enfants du Makay

Lancement du projet Forêts villageoises

C’est dans le cadre de cette stratégie que Naturevolution lance les Forêts villageoises. Ce projet vise à replanter des forêts au bénéfice direct des villageois au niveau des zones tampons dégradées situées entre les villages et le massif.

Le reboisement ciblera des essences permettant de satisfaire les besoins de base et d’améliorer les conditions de vie. Les parcelles ainsi développées permettront de contribuer à l’alimentation locale, de fournir du bois de chauffage, de construction et de cuisson, et contiendront également des plantes mellifères et médicinales. La proximité des parcelles reboisées avec les villages offrira aussi un gain de temps et d’effort aux villageois en comparaison de prélèvements réalisés à plusieurs heures de marche dans le massif, et leur utilisation permettra aux communautés de se former à la gestion durable des forêts.

Le projet a démarré au printemps 2019 dans 4 villages pilotes, chacun doté d’une pépinière, avec un objectif pour fin 2019 de 18 000 plants par pépinière, soit 72 hectares pouvant être reboisés.

→  En savoir plus sur le projet Forêts villageoises

Pépinière pour le reboisement, massif du Makay, Madagascar

Une des premières pépinières du projet Forêts vilageoises lancé en 2019.

Nos partenaires

Ce projet de reboisement est soutenu par MaltemUn premier financement à hauteur de 10.000€ a été obtenu auprès de Maltem, permettant le lancement du projet Forêts villageoises. Maltem est un écosystème de sociétés de conseil spécialisées dans la transformation digitale et l’innovation durable, et un partenaire de Naturevolution depuis 2016.

Toute la série d’articles

Un article proposé par Gaëtan Deltour et Yann Bigant

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

dix-huit − 1 =