(2/6) Deforestation: the timetable (in) government action?

After initiating in 2018 a Beekeeping Pilot, Naturevolution start a reforestation project near the villages of Makay: 1 Million trees for the Makay. But we could start this project without you explain this autumn how it fits in both a specific local context and in a worrying global context. Through 6 items we take stock of the current state of deforestation, commitments and actions initiated by the different governments, reforestation initiatives in terms especially in Madagascar and finally the possible actions to your scale to fight against deforestation . An entire program !

At an international level

Since 1992 and the Rio summit declaration, the fight against deforestation is discussed during international meetings in order to create a global framework for action and maintain the essential role of our forests.

2010 - During the Nagoya World Biodiversity Conference, Aïchi's objectives are adopted by the parties to the CBD with, in particular, the objective of " reduce to at least half, or where possible close to zero, the rate of loss of natural habitats, including forests "And" an objective of safeguarding biodiversity for 17% of land areas and inland waters and for 10% of marine and coastal areas". The creation of theIPBES, the "IPCC of biodiversity" is announced.

2014 - the New York Declaration on forests sets the goal of "halve natural forest losses by 2020, striving to end by 2030».

Madagascar forest
Madagascar's forests are among the most threatened in the world. Madagascar, 2004.

2015 - the UN inscribed in the Sustainable Development Goal n ° 15 (SDG15) the theme of terrestrial life: “Preserve and restore terrestrial ecosystems, ensuring that they are used in a sustainable manner, sustainably manage forests, fight against desertification, halt and reverse the process of soil degradation and put an end to the loss of biodiversity».

2015 - Paris Agreement which sets the goal of maintaining warming " significantly below 2 ° C" recognize "the importance of conserving and, where appropriate, strengthening sinks and reservoirs of greenhouse gases ". Among these sinks and reservoirs of greenhouse gases, forests store a significant portion of carbon. During COP21, seven countries signed Amsterdam declarations which aim to eliminate deforestation from agricultural supply chains and support private sector efforts to support sustainable palm oil supply by 2020.

2018 - the latest IPCC report (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) warning about the need to preserve carbon sinks without which it will be impossible to limit global warming to 1.5 ° C compared to the preindustrial era.

2019 - the IPCC publishes a thematic report Soils & Climate Change. This report confirms the significant impact of deforestation and agriculture on greenhouse gas (1/4 of the land is degraded by human activity). In the current climate crisis, IPCC scientists highlight two major solutions: the protection and restoration of forests accompanied by a radical transformation of the world food system.

Ankarana National Park Forest, Madagascar
Ankarana National Park Forest, Madagascar, 2010.

At the European level

The European Union has had a forestry strategy since 1998, in favor of the sustainable management of forests.
In 2013, the European Commission published “ A new EU strategy for forests and forestry » which aims to guide the EU's forestry policy by 2020 with two main objectives and a budget of 8.2 billion euros over 5 years:

  1. ensure that European forests are managed in a sustainable way,
  2. strengthen the Union’s contribution to promoting sustainable forest management and combating deforestation at global level.

Regarding deforestation in Europe

European forests are doing well. They cover 182 million hectares (5% of global forest areas) and cover 43% of the Union's area. Europe is the only region in the world where forest areas are currently increasing, with an estimated growth of 800,000 hectares per year according to the Forest Europe report "State of the forests of Europe 2011». However, only 4% of primary forests remain in Europe and some are still threatened, as la forêt de BiałowieżaThe oldest primeval forest in Europe, in Poland threatened by logging, and Forest Hambach Germany, threatened by a coal mine.

Map of the forests of Europe

Regarding deforestation caused by Europe in the rest of the world

Between 1990 and 2008, Europe was responsible for the deforestation of an area equivalent to Portugal (9 million hectares) for its imports of agricultural products, notably soybeans, palm oil and cocoa. This is "imported deforestation".

Following a study of the European Commission in 2013 (The impact of EU consumption on deforestation) We observe that 39% of global deforestation is caused by imported Europe. Europe is then the continent that generates the most imported deforestation, and the commitments made in 2014/2015 aim to tackle the problem. France, through its climate plan and in particular its "national strategy to combat imported deforestation"Published in July 2017 pledged to" end imported deforestation ". All that remains today is to respect these various commitments, which are slow to materialize, in particular through measures on EU trade.

July 23, 2019, date on which France ratifies CETA (free trade treaty with Canada), the European Commission publishes the document "Strengthening EU action to protect and restore the world's forests»And proposes 5 priorities and key actions:

To find out more, the European Parliament offers a thematic sheet: The European Union and forests.

For what results?

For 27 years our governments have maintained that the fight against deforestation is a priority, but what is it today?

As we saw in the previous article, the state of deforestation in 2019, an overall slowdown in the rate of net deforestation was observed for the period 2000-2010, with an average annual loss estimated at 7 million hectares.

What will be the results for the decade 2010-2020? 2020 is precisely the deadline when the main political objectives have been set: Challenge de Bonn on reforestation, New York Declaration on Forest Protection, Sustainable Development Goals, Amsterdam Declarations on Supply Chains, and the Aïchi Convention on Biodiversity.

New tools, like Global Forest Watch, track rainforest loss annually, and on a rolling average. After a period of stagnation, deforestation seems to be on the rise again in recent years, a sign that all of these international agreements are not translating into real results. The reason is undoubtedly thatthey are not accompanied by a profound change in the world economic system. The results of these commitments are therefore likely to be very disappointing in 2020.

Graphic presentation of the loss of tropical forest between 2002 and 2018.

A greening of the planet?

However, despite persistent deforestation, plant surfaces on the planet increased by 5% between 2000 and 2017, which is the equivalent of the Amazon rainforest. Good news ? Bad news ?

Unfortunately, this is rather bad news:

  • 70% of greening is due to global warming which allows vegetation to develop in more northern latitudes.
  • In India, significant greening is to be noted, but this is due to the increase in cultivated areas.
  • In China, a extensive reforestation policy has been underway for several decades to combat desertification which affects a quarter of the territory and 400 million people. While the forested area has increased considerably, the low diversity of the tree species chosen creates forests that are not very conducive to biodiversity.
  • Finally, as this gain does not compensate for the loss of natural vegetation and extremely rich biodiversity which is found there, especially in tropical regions, such as Brazil, Indonesia and Congo.

Hope for Indonesia's Forests

An optimistic outlook, underscored by the latest report from Global Forest Watch, concerns Indonesia. Following the 2015 fire crisis, Indonesia posted three consecutive years of serious reduction in deforestation. In 2020, the trend continued with a deforestation rate at its lowest level since 2004, a feat hailed by Mighty Earth.

In 2011, the government put in place a moratorium on deforestation (no new operating permits on primary forests and peatlands), which, although insufficient to effectively combat deforestation, has led to some progress starting from from 2016. This moratorium was made permanent in summer 2019, but its impact is very low : there are many flaws allowing to bypass it and the areas covered are largely insufficient, as described by Mongabay in an excellent article. Malaysia is considering a cap on oil palm plantations in the country.

Zoning of forests in the 2011 proposal for a moratorium on deforestation in Indonesia
Forest zoning in the 2011 moratorium proposal.
In black, the areas covered by the moratorium; in red, areas not covered and at risk; in light gray, the deep bogs storing an incredible amount of carbon. Source: Greenpeace

Let’s not forget that everything can quickly change for the worse (as in Brazil and the United States lately) and that public policies will only have an impact if the government actively tackles illegal deforestation and closes legal loopholes. The palm oil industry remains the main engine for the development of rural areas - an industry that employs 18 million people - but current techniques for exploiting plantations mean that they are only particularly lucrative on small farms. recently deforested land, the sale of cut wood to cover investments and therefore be profitable from the first year. The fires are started to rise again in 2019, highlighting a lack of follow-up in the field.

Palm oil plantation in Sulawesi, Indonesia.
Palm oil plantation in Sulawesi, Indonesia.

Protected areas to preserve forests

Meanwhile, the number of protected areas is continuing its slow progression, with 15% of the land surface of the earth having a protected area status in 2019 (monitor the coverage of protected areas around the world). Will we be able to reach the objectives of the Aïchi convention for biological diversity which has set 17% of protected area by 2020? And will we, before it is too late, be able to protect half of the planet's protected surface - including continents and oceans - as recommended by scientists at Half-Earth project?

Protected areas around the world. Source: Protected Planet / IUCN.

It should also be remembered that half of the protected areas at the global level are protected only on paper (the paper parks or 'reservations on paper') and are therefore subject to strong anthropogenic pressures. It is therefore equally important toact for the creation of new protected areas, than to "manage" protected areas and to develop projects there so that the preservation of nature becomes a reality for the benefit of all.

This is in particular what Naturevolution has been doing since 2009 in the Makay massif in Madagascar by making the request for creation of the New Protected Area of ​​Makay (obtained in 2017), by being recognized as the manager of the protected area, and by developing a conservation strategy.

Forest in the Makay massif
Sakapaly Forest - 3rd largest forest in the Makay protected area, Madagascar.

While the creation of protected areas requires slow and complex public procedures, other players choose to purchase land privately.

  • This is notably the case of Douglas and Kristine Tompkins, respectively founder of The North Face and ex-CEO of Patagonia, who bought large areas in Argentine and Chilean Patagonia, developed protection, regeneration and reintroduction programs there. of species, before transferring them to the Chilean and Argentinian governments to become national parks. Their many projects are now grouped together in the foundation Tompkins Conservation.
  • This is also what Kalaweit in Indonesia, by purchasing tracts of tropical forests to protect them.
  • Closer to home, the association QUOTATION MARKS buys privately courses in France to give back to nature by making them Wild Life Reserves. Their latest project and the largest to date, purchase of 500 hectares of the domain Valfanjouse in Vercors, was the subject ofa report by France 24.
Pumalín Park, Chili
Parque Pumalín, Chile. Pumalín Park is the result of the Tompkins' first project. Photo © Pumalín Park

Our Partners

Initial funding to the tune of € 10,000 was obtained from Ermada - Sale of Malagasy handicraftsEnabling the launch of projet 1 Million d’arbre spour le Makay. Maltem is an ecosystem of specialized consulting companies in the digital transformation and sustainable innovation, and a partner of Naturevolution since 2016.

The entire series of articles

An article proposed by Gaëtan Deltour and Yann Bigant

Learn more about this project

Reforest the periphery of the New Protected Area of ​​Makay

Comments are closed.

(2/6) Déforestation : chronologie d’une (in)action gouvernementale ?

Après avoir initié en 2018 un projet pilote d’apiculture, Naturevolution démarre un projet de reboisement à proximité des villages du Makay : les forêts villageoises. Mais nous ne pouvions lancer ce projet sans vous expliquer cette rentrée comment celui-ci s’inscrit à la fois dans un contexte local précis et dans un contexte global préoccupant. À travers 6 articles nous faisons le point sur l’état actuel de la déforestation, des engagements ou actions initiés par les différents gouvernements, des initiatives en terme de reboisement en particulier à Madagascar et enfin des actions possibles à votre échelle pour lutter contre la déforestation. Tout un programme !

Au niveau international

Depuis 1992 et la déclaration du sommet de Rio, la lutte contre la déforestation est évoquée durant les rencontres internationales afin de créer un cadre d’action global et maintenir le rôle essentiel de nos forêts.

2010 – Durant la conférence mondiale sur la biodiversité de Nagoya, les objectifs d’Aïchi sont adoptés par les parties de la CDB avec notamment l’objectif de « réduire au moins de moitié, ou lorsque c’est possible à près de zéro, le taux de perte d’habitats naturels, y compris les forêts » et « un objectif de sauvegarde de la biodiversité pour 17 % des zones terrestres et des eaux continentales et pour 10 % des zones marines et côtières« . La création de l’IPBES, le « GIEC de la biodiversité » est annoncée.

2014 – la déclaration de New York sur les forêts fixe l’objectif de « réduire les pertes forestières naturelles de moitié d’ici 2020, en s’efforçant d’y mettre fin d’ici 2030 ».

Forêt de Madagascar

Les forêts de Madagascar sont parmi les plus menacées au monde. Madagascar, 2004.

2015 – l’ONU inscrit dans l’Objectif de Développement Durable n°15 (ODD15) la thématique de la vie terrestre : « Préserver et restaurer les écosystèmes terrestres, en veillant à les exploiter de façon durable, gérer durablement les forêts, lutter contre la désertification, enrayer et inverser le processus de dégradation des sols et mettre fin à l’appauvrissement de la biodiversité ».

2015 – l’Accord de Paris qui fixe l’objectif de maintenir le réchauffement « nettement en dessous de 2°C » reconnaît « l’importance de la conservation et, le cas échéant, du renforcement des puits et réservoirs des gaz à effet de serre ». Parmi ces puits et réservoirs de gaz à effet de serre, les forêts stockent une part importante du carbone. Durant la COP21, sept pays ont signé les déclarations d’Amsterdam qui ont pour objectif d’éliminer la déforestation des chaînes d’approvisionnement en produits agricoles et d’appuyer les efforts portés par le secteur privé pour soutenir l’approvisionnement en huile de palme durable à l’horizon 2020.

2018 – le dernier rapport du GIEC (Groupe d’experts Intergouvernemental sur l’Évolution du Climat) alerte sur la nécessité de préserver les puits de carbone sans lesquels il sera impossible de limiter le réchauffement climatique à 1,5°C par rapport à l’ère préindustrielle.

2019 – le GIEC publie un rapport thématique Sols & Changement Climatique. Ce rapport confirme l’impact important de la déforestation et de l’agriculture sur les gaz à effet de serre (1/4 des terres sont dégradés par l’activité humaine). Face à la crise climatique actuelle, les scientifiques du GIEC mettent en avant deux solutions majeures : la protection et la restauration des forêts accompagnées d’une transformation radicale du système alimentaire mondial.

Forêt du parc national d'Ankarana, Madagascar

Forêt du parc national d’Ankarana, Madagascar, 2010.

Au niveau européen

L’Union européenne dispose d’une stratégie forestière depuis 1998, en faveur de la gestion durable des forêts.
En 2013, la Commission européenne a publié « Une nouvelle stratégie de l’UE pour les forêts et le secteur forestier » qui vise à orienter la politique forestière de l’UE à l’horizon 2020 avec deux objectifs principaux et un budget de 8,2 milliards d’euros sur 5 ans :

  1. s’assurer que les forêts européennes sont gérées de façon durable,
  2. renforcer la contribution de l’Union à la promotion de la gestion durable des forêts et à la lutte contre la déforestation au niveau mondial.

En Europe
Les forêts européennes se portent bien. Elles s’étendent sur 182 millions d’hectares (5% des surfaces forestières mondiales) et couvrent 43% de la superficie de l’Union. L’Europe est la seule région au monde où les surfaces forestières s’accroissent actuellement, avec une croissance estimée à 800 000 hectares par an d’après le rapport de Forest Europe « Etat des forêts d’Europe 2011 ». Cependant il ne resterait que 4% des forêts primaires en Europe et certaines sont encore menacées, comme la forêt de Białowieża, la plus ancienne forêt primaire d’Europe, menacée en Pologne par l’exploitation forestière, et la forêt de Hambach en Allemagne, menacée par une mine de charbon.

Carte des forêts d'Europe

Dans le reste du monde
Entre 1990 et 2008, l’Europe a été responsable de la déforestation d’une surface équivalente au Portugal (9 millions d’hectares) pour ses importations de produits agricoles, notamment le soja, l’huile de palme et le cacao. C’est la « déforestation importée ».

Suite à une étude de la commission européenne en 2013 (The impact of EU consumption on deforestation) on constate que 39% de la déforestation importée mondiale est causée par l’Europe. L’Europe est alors le continent qui génère le plus de déforestation importée, et les engagements pris en 2014/2015 visent à s’attaquer au problème. La France, à travers son plan climat et notamment sa « stratégie nationale de lutte contre la déforestation importée » publiés en juillet 2017 s’est engagée à « mettre un terme à la déforestation importée ». Reste aujourd’hui à respecter ces différents engagements qui tardent à se concrétiser, notamment via des mesures sur le échanges commerciaux de l’UE.

Le 23 juillet 2019, date où la France ratifie le CETA (traité de libre-échange avec le Canada), la commission européenne publie le document « Renforcer l’action de l’UE en faveur de la protection et de la restauration des forêts du monde » et propose 5 priorités et actions clés :

Pour en savoir, plus le parlement européen propose une fiche thématique : L’Union Européenne et les forêts.

Pour quels résultats ?

Depuis 27 ans nos gouvernements soutiennent que la lutte contre la déforestation est une priorité mais qu’en est-il aujourd’hui ?

Comme nous l’avons vu dans l’article précédent, l’état des lieux de la déforestation en 2019, un ralentissement global du rythme de la déforestation nette avait été constaté pour la période 2000-2010, avec une perte annuelle moyenne estimée à 7 millions d’hectares.

Quel sera le bilan pour la décennie 2010-2020 ? 2020 est justement la date butoir où les principaux objectifs politiques ont été fixés : Challenge de Bonn sur la reforestation, Déclaration de New York sur la protection des forêts, Objectifs du Développement Durable, Déclarations d’Amsterdam sur les chaînes d’approvisionnement, et la Convention d’Aïchi sur la biodiversité.

De nouveaux outils, comme Global Forest Watch, permettent de suivre la perte de forêt tropicale annuellement, et sur une moyenne glissante. Après une période de stagnation, la déforestation semble être bien repartie à la hausse ces dernières années, signe que l’ensemble de ces accords internationaux ne se concrétise pas en résultats réels. La raison en est sans aucun doute qu’ils ne sont pas accompagnés d’un changement en profondeur du système économique mondial. Le bilan de ces engagements risque donc d’être fort décevant en 2020.

Graphique présentation la perte de forêt tropicale entre 2002 et 2018.

Un verdissement de la planète ?

Cependant, malgré une déforestation persistante, les surfaces végétales sur la planète ont progressé de 5% entre 2000 et 2017, soit l’équivalent tout de même de la forêt amazonienne. Bonne nouvelle ? Mauvaise nouvelle ?

Malheureusement il s’agit ici plutôt d’une mauvaise nouvelle :

  • 70% du verdissement est dû au réchauffement climatique qui permet à la végétation de se développer dans les latitudes plus au Nord.
  • En Inde, un verdissement important est à noter mais celui-ci est dû à l’augmentation des surfaces cultivées.
  • En Chine, une vaste politique de reboisement est en cours depuis plusieurs décennies pour lutter contre la désertification qui affecte un quart du territoire et 400 millions de personnes. Si les surfaces forestées ont considérablement augmenté, la faible diversité des espèces d’arbres choisies engendre des forêts peu propices à la biodiversité.
  • Enfin, ce gain ne compense pas la perte de végétation naturelle et de la biodiversité extrêmement riche qui s’y trouve, notamment dans les régions tropicales, comme au Brésil, en Indonésie et au Congo.

De l’espoir pour les forêts d’Indonésie

Une perspective optimiste, soulignée par le dernier rapport de Global Forest Watch, concerne l’Indonésie. Suite à la crise des feux de 2015, l’Indonésie a affiché trois années consécutives de réduction sérieuse de la déforestation.

Le gouvernement a mis en place en 2011 un moratoire sur la déforestation (pas de nouveaux permis d’exploitation sur les forêts primaires et tourbières), qui bien qu’insuffisant pour lutter de manière effective contre la déforestation, a mené à quelques progrès à partir de 2016. Ce moratoire a été rendu permanent à l’été 2019, mais son impact est très faible : il existe de nombreuses failles permettant de le contourner et les zones couvertes sont largement insuffisantes, comme le décrit Mongabay dans un excellent article. La Malaisie envisage quant à elle un plafonnement des plantations de palmiers à huile du pays.

Zonage des forêts dans la proposition 2011 de moratoire sur la déforestation en Indonésie

Zonage des forêts dans la proposition du moratoire de 2011.
En noir, les zones couvertes par le moratoire ; en rouge, les zones non couvertes et à risque ; en gris clair, les tourbières profondes stockant une quantité incroyable de carbone. Source : Greenpeace.

N’oublions pas pour autant que tout peut changer rapidement pour le pire (comme au Brésil et aux États-Unis dernièrement) et que les politiques publiques n’auront d’impact que si le gouvernement lutte activement contre la déforestation illégale et clôt les failles juridiques. L’industrie de l’huile de palme reste le moteur privilégié du développement des zones rurales – une industrie qui fait travailler 18 millions de personnes – mais les techniques d’exploitation actuelles des plantations font que celles-ci ne sont particulièrement lucratives que sur des terres récemment déforestées, la vente du bois coupé permettant de couvrir les investissements et d’être donc rentable dès la première année. Les feux sont quant à eux repartis à la hausse en 2019, mettant en valeur un manque de suivi sur le terrain.

Plantation de palmier à huile à Sulawesi, Indonésie.

Plantation de palmier à huile à Sulawesi, Indonésie.

Les aires protégées pour préserver les forêts

Pendant ce temps, le nombre d’aires protégées poursuit sa trop lente progression, avec 15% des terres émergées de la planète ayant un statut d’aire protégée en 2019 (suivre la couverture des aires protégées dans le monde). Arriverons-nous à atteindre les objectifs de la convention d’Aïchi pour la diversité biologique qui a fixé 17% de surface protégée d’ici 2020 ? Et arriverons-nous, avant qu’il ne soit trop tard, à protéger la moitié de la surface de la planète protégée – continents et océans compris – comme le recommandent les scientifiques du Half-Earth project ?

Il faut compter également que la moitié des aires protégées au niveau mondial ne sont protégées que sur le papier (les paper parks ou ‘réserves sur le papier’) et subissent donc de fortes pressions anthropiques. Il est donc tout aussi important d’agir pour la création de nouvelles aires protégées, que de ‘gérer’ des aires protégées et d’y développer des projets afin que la préservation de la nature y devienne une réalité au bénéfice de tous.

C’est notamment ce que fait Naturevolution depuis 2009 dans le massif du Makay à Madagascar en portant la demande de création de la Nouvelle Aire Protégée du Makay (obtenue en 2017), en étant reconnue gestionnaire de l’aire protégée, et en y développant une stratégie de conservation.

Forêt dans le massif du Makay

Forêt de Sakapaly – 3ème plus grande forêt de l’aire protégée du Makay, à Madagascar.

Alors que la création d’aires protégées fait appel à des procédures publiques lente et complexes, d’autres acteurs font le choix de l’achat des terrains à titre privé.

  • C’est notamment le cas de Douglas et Kristine Tompkins, respectivement fondateur de The North Face et ex-PDG de Patagonia, qui ont acheté de vastes étendues en Patagonie argentine et chilienne, y ont développé des programmes de protection, de régénération et de réintroduction d’espèces, avant de les transférer aux gouvernements chilien et argentins pour qu’ils deviennent des parcs nationaux. Leurs nombreux projets sont aujourd’hui regroupés dans la fondation Tompkins Conservation.
  • C’est aussi ce que fait Kalaweit en Indonésie, en achetant des étendues de forêts tropicales pour les protéger.
  • Plus près de chez nous, l’association ASPAS achète des terrains à titre privé en France pour les rendre à la nature en en faisant des Réserves de Vie Sauvage. Leur dernier projet et le plus gros à date, l’achat des 500 hectares du domaine de Valfanjouse dans le Vercors, a fait l’objet d’un reportage par France 24.
Parque Pumalín, Chili

Parque Pumalín, Chili. Le parc Pumalín résulte du premier projet des époux Tompkins. Photo © Parque Pumalín

Nos partenaires

Ce projet de reboisement est soutenu par MaltemUn premier financement à hauteur de 10.000€ a été obtenu auprès de Maltem, permettant le lancement du projet Forêts villageoises. Maltem est un écosystème de sociétés de conseil spécialisées dans la transformation digitale et l’innovation durable, et un partenaire de Naturevolution depuis 2016.

Toute la série d’articles

Un article proposé par Gaëtan Deltour et Yann Bigant

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

4 × deux =