(3/6) Reforestation: Opportunities and Limitations

After discussing the state of play of deforestation in the world and government (in) action in this regard, we take stock here of reforestation, or rather of the myriad of different initiatives that this term encompasses - each actor having of course its definition of the term and its own objective, whether it is political, social, economic or environmental. At a time when Naturevolution is launching the project 1 million trees for Makay in order to create "useful forests" near the villages, and thus reduce the pressure on the forests of the massif, it seems all the more relevant to us to look at the local and global context in which this project takes place.

Reforest [ʁǝ.bwɑ.ze] : Planting trees on land where there were woods that were destroyed.

Afforestation or reforestation?

Often considered synonymous, we choose to use the term here reforestation to indicate the fact planting trees in generalWithout the type, destination or use of the forest created for clarification.

Other terms describe specific activities, but the meaning of words retains an element of uncertainty: reforestation (which seems to us more suitable for talking about the restoration of forests similar to those which existed in the past in this place), Re-ensauvagement or rewilding (Making land the nature actively or passively), regeneration of natural vegetation - but the one 500 years ago or 10,000 years ago? - etc.

The term of plantation is rather used to talk about a project where the economic purpose takes precedence: it is often intensive monocultures, sometimes called "cash crops" when they are mainly intended for export.

Reforest massively against climate change?

In 2015, the biologist Thomas Crowther counted for the first time the number of trees in the world and had arrived at the figure of 3.000 billion, about 422 trees per capita.

According to a new study ETH-Zürich in Switzerland in July 2019, it would be possible toadd 1,000 billion trees on the planet, which would allowabsorber 205 gigatonnes de CO2 and to do reduce the CO2 rate by 25% in the atmosphere over the next 40-100 years if we plant the right trees in the right places. It is good to note that this is a realistic scenario and that these 1 trillion trees will not take over agricultural land which is used today. Rather, it was abandoned or degraded land, but researchers were unable to determine whether it was private or public land.

Nursery in Madagascar
The first initiative of village nurseries established by Naturevolution early in the Makay project.

A scenario far from a panacea

This project is a great opportunity to mitigate some of the effects of the climate crisisBut only in the medium term carbon storage is not immediate. It is also ofa "carbon storage capital" finished If trees can absorb much of the CO2 generated to date in the atmosphere, the fact remains that we must stop inject such amounts of it every day.

It is important to note that reforestation projects associated with the resale of carbon credits generated in the form of "rights to emit greenhouse gases," as is sometimes the case, just cancel the benefits described in the study above (the absorption of existing CO2). We will not cover the broad topic of carbon finance in this article, but Friends of the Earth have achieved a very good record on the subject, with many links to deepen.

Such large-scale reforestation can only have very few benefits in terms of biodiversity. Almost half of the reforestation announcements within the framework of the Bonn Challenge are actually new plantations of acacia and eucalyptus intended for harvest, not allowing long-term storage of carbon compared to natural forests (which only represent 34% of the commitments). This is purely and simply greenwashing aimed at disguising intensive agriculture in the guise of a climate solution. Forest plantations, generally monospecific or weakly diversified, do not allow or restore the rich ecosystems destroyed by deforestation, nor often home to an interesting fringe of local biodiversity. In some cases, the context even becomes less favorable for biodiversity than if nothing had been done.

Only the various forest regeneration projects can therefore be considered beneficial from an environmental point of view, whether it involves creating mixed-use forests (native vegetation interspersed with crops), actively recreating forests close to the initial forests. or from re-savage passively. Such a purpose in a project is generally clearly displayed and explained.

Palm oil plantation in Sulawesi (Indonesia)

Plantations are also water demanding and will stay more vulnerable than mature forests to fires, diseases and storms during their growth. Their maintenance is therefore essential. Non-destructive use of the wood resource thus generated (for construction or furnishings) can allow CO2 to be stored for longer before it is released into the atmosphere.

Reforestation can have many other benefits such as erosion control, water retention in the soil, a benefit in terms of rainfall in the regional climate, or by providing resources to surrounding populations and further reducing the pressure on other forests that we are trying to protect. This is precisely what Naturevolution envisions with the 1 million trees project for the Makay in the Makay massif in Madagascar.

The fact remains that before planting new forests we should first stop destroying the magnificent primary forests that we remain!

Formation of pit in Makay by an erosion process.

Panorama reforestation policies worldwide

While deforestation is far from being under control and that measures taken to curb it are insufficient, governments choose to massive tree planting campaignsOften highly publicized.

2011 - Germany and the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) launch Challenge de Bonn. The objective is to reforest 150 million hectares by 2020In order to halt the loss of forest area.

2014 - the ambition is revised upwards with the " New York Declaration on Forests "At the climate summit. The objective passes 350 million hectares by 2030.

The country went further by number of trees planted or announced, without always consistent:

  • Australia wants to plant one billion trees by 2050, but continues to cut primary forests.
  • Pakistan announces 10 billion trees by 2030.
  • India beating a world record in 2017 with 66 million trees planted in 12 hours with the help of 1.5 million volunteers.
  • The city of Milan announced a target of 3 million trees by 2030.
  • Iceland planted 3 to 4 million trees since 2015.
  • Madagascar wants to become a green island with a target of 40 million trees planted per year.
  • In 2019, Ethiopia planted 363 million trees in 12 hours, breaking the record of India. The country wants to replant more than 4 billion trees in the coming months. 4% of the territory is currently covered by forests, against 1/3 in the early 20th century.

Does it work?

These tree planting campaigns, like those in Ethiopia between 2010 and 2015, often hide a harsh reality: lack of maintenance, 75% of seeds sown or trees planted did not survive.

But past successes show that these campaigns - if done right - can work:

  • In South Korea, following a massive reforestation program which lasted 25 years, the share of territory covered by forests has increased from 35% to 64%.
  • China large-scale reforestation since the 1980s, and plans to complete a 4,500km-long forest belt in 2050 to contain the expansion of the Gobi Desert. While the return of forest cover is a great success, most reforested areas have extremely low plant diversity: between 2 and 5 tree species, in a country 40 times the size of France. The new forests thus recreated do not allow the return of biodiversity.
  • France now has more forests in the Middle Ages thanks to forest management policies. Forest area increases, only one third of the annual biomass production being harvested. The lack of diversity in forests is also criticized., in particular to deal with the crises of biodiversity and global warming. The privatization of the NFB ongoing (2019-2020) does not bode well for French forests.
Evolution of forest cover in France between 1830 and 2019.
Evolution of forest cover in France between 1830 and 2019.

Read more: Why Green Pledges Will Not Create the Natural Forests We Need (in English) is an excellent article on the successes and failures of national reforestation projects.

And rewilding in?

The rewilding - or rewilding - consists of returning land to nature, either by recreating what was there before (a tropical forest, a savanna, etc.), or by letting nature take back its rights all by itself.

This practice is particularly necessary in Europe, only 4% of the territory being protected there. (and many uses are sometimes allowed, such as hunting). It is in particular in the face of this observation that theQUOTATION MARKS created the concept of Wildlife Reserve®, "a natural space whose management is non-management, or free evolution". ASPAS Wildlife Reserves are recognized as the only natural spaces in France, public or private, accepted within the biodiversity protection network Rewilding Europe.

Elsewhere in the world, we can cite the following projects:

Evolution of forest cover in the area of ​​Salgado between 2001 and 2019.
  • The project Omar Tello illustrates stranger bought 7 hectares of pastures (deforested long ago) and are replanted plants for 30 years he has saved from deforestation in all the countries. He is honored in very nice video (9 min).
  • the botanist Akira Miyawaki has developed a method to restore a virgin forest on an extremely short time 30 years instead of 300 years! An estimated 40 million people of virgin forest trees that Miyawaki method allowed to plant across the world. Many initiatives have adapted the Miyawaki Method to their local context, be it temperate or tropical.

In conclusion : It is quite possible to do AND reforest AND promote biodiversity, you just need to do it right. And the priority remains of course to stop deforestation. We present you concrete ways to fight against deforestation, ranked in order of importance in our next article: How to act against deforestation?

Our Partners

This reforestation project is supported by Maltem

Initial funding to the tune of € 10,000 was obtained from Ermada - Sale of Malagasy handicraftsEnabling the launch of 1 Million trees project for the Makay. Maltem is an ecosystem of specialized consulting companies in the digital transformation and sustainable innovation, and a partner of Naturevolution since 2016.

The entire series of articles

An article proposed by Gaëtan Deltour and Yann Bigant

Learn more about this project

Reforest the periphery of the New Protected Area of ​​Makay

Comments are closed.

(3/6) Le reboisement : opportunités et limitations

Après avoir évoqué l’état des lieux de la déforestation dans le monde et l'(in)action des gouvernements en la matière, nous faisons le point ici sur la reforestation, ou plutôt sur la myriade d’initiatives différentes que ce terme englobe – chaque acteur ayant bien entendu sa définition du terme et son objectif propre, que celui-ci soit politique, social, économique ou environnemental. À l’heure où Naturevolution lance le projet 1 million d’arbres pour le Makay afin de créer des ‘forêts utiles’ près des villages, et ainsi réduire la pression sur les forêts du massif, il nous semble d’autant plus pertinent de se pencher sur le contexte local et global où s’inscrit ce projet.

Reboiser [ʁǝ.bwɑ.ze] : Planter des arbres sur des terrains où il existait des bois qui ont été détruits.

Reboisement ou reforestation ?

Souvent considérés comme synonymes, nous choisissons d’utiliser ici le terme de reboisement pour indiquer le fait de planter des arbres d’une manière générale, sans que le type, la destination ou l’utilisation de la forêt créée soit précisé.

D’autres termes décrivent des activités spécifiques, mais le sens des mots conserve une part d’incertitude : reforestation (qui nous semble plus adapté pour parler de restauration de forêts similaires à celles qui existaient par le passé à cet endroit), ré-ensauvagement ou rewilding (rendre des terres à la nature activement ou passivement), régénération de la végétation naturelle – mais celle d’il y a 500 ans ou 10.000 ans ? – etc.

Le terme de plantation est plutôt utilisé pour parler de projet où la finalité économique prime : il s’agit souvent de monocultures intensives, parfois appelées ‘cultures de rente’ (cash crops) lorsqu’elles sont majoritairement destinées à l’exportation.

Reboiser massivement contre le changement climatique ?

En 2015, le biologiste Thomas Crowther a dénombré pour la première fois le nombre d’arbres sur la planète et en était arrivé au chiffre de 3.000 milliards, soit environ 422 arbres par habitant.

D’après une nouvelle étude de l’ETH-Zürich en Suisse de juillet 2019, il serait possible d’ajouter 1.000 milliards d’arbres sur la planète, ce qui permettrait d’absorber 205 gigatonnes de CO2 et de faire diminuer de 25 % le taux de CO2 dans l’atmosphère au cours des 40-100 prochaines années si nous plantons les bons arbres aux bons endroits. Il est bon de noter qu’il s’agit d’un scénario réaliste et que ces 1000 milliards d’arbres ne viendront pas accaparer des terres agricoles aujourd’hui utilisées. Il s’agit plutôt de terres abandonnées ou dégradées, mais les chercheurs n’étaient pas en mesure de déterminer s’il s’agissait de terrains privés ou publics.

Pépinière à Madagascar
La première initiative de pépinières villageoises instaurée par Naturevolution au tout début du projet Makay.

Un scénario loin d’être une solution miracle

Ce projet est une formidable opportunité pour atténuer certains effets de la crise climatique, mais seulement à moyen terme, le stockage du carbone n’étant pas immédiat. Il s’agit par ailleurs d’un « capital de stockage carbone » fini : si les arbres peuvent absorber une bonne partie du CO2 généré à ce jour dans l’atmosphère, il n’en reste qu’il faut arrêter d’y injecter de telles quantités au quotidien.

Il est important de noter que des projets de reboisement associés à la revente de crédits carbone générés sous forme de « droits à émettre des gaz à effet de serre », comme c’est parfois le cas, vient annuler le bénéfice décrit dans l’étude ci-dessus (l’absorption du CO2 existant). Nous ne couvrirons pas le vaste sujet de la finance carbone dans cet article, mais Les Amis de la Terre ont réalisé un très bon dossier sur le sujet, avec de nombreux liens pour approfondir.

Un tel reboisement à grande échelle peut n’avoir que très peu de bénéfices en terme de biodiversité. Près de la moitié des annonces de reforestation dans le cadre du Challenge de Bonn sont en réalité de nouvelles plantations d’acacia et d’eucalyptus destinées à être récoltées, ne permettant pas un stockage à long terme du carbone par rapport à des forêts naturelles (qui ne représentent que 34% des engagements). Il s’agit purement et simplement de greenwashing visant à déguiser une agriculture intensive sous les atours d’une solution climat. Les plantations forestières, généralement monospécifiques ou faiblement diversifiées, ne permettent ni de restaurer les riches écosystèmes détruits par la déforestation, ni souvent d’abriter une frange intéressante de la biodiversité locale. Dans certains cas, le contexte devient même moins favorable à la biodiversité que si rien n’avait été entrepris.

Seuls les différents projets de régénération de forêts peuvent donc être considérées comme bénéfique du point de vue environnemental, qu’il s’agisse de créer des forêts à usage mixte (végétation native intercalée de cultures), de recréer activement des forêts proches des forêts initiales ou de ré-ensauvager passivement. Une telle finalité dans un projet est généralement clairement affichée et explicitée.

Plantation de palmiers à huile à Sulawesi (Indonésie)

Les plantations sont aussi exigeantes en eau et resteront plus vulnérables que des forêts matures aux feux, maladies et orages le temps de leur croissance. Leur entretien est donc essentiel. Une utilisation non destructrice de la ressource bois ainsi générée (pour la construction ou l’ameublement) peut permettre un stockage plus long du CO2 avant son relâchement dans l’atmosphère.

Le reboisement peut présenter de nombreux autres avantages comme l’enraiement de l’érosion, la rétention de l’eau dans le sol, un bénéfice en terme de précipitations dans le climat régional, ou encore en fournissant des ressources aux populations environnantes et en réduisant d’autant la pression sur d’autres forêts que l’on cherche à protéger. C’est précisément ce que Naturevolution envisage avec le projet Forêts villageoises dans le massif du Makay à Madagascar.

Il n’en reste qu’avant de planter des forêts nouvelles nous devrions commencer par arrêter de détruire les splendides forêts primaires qu’il nous restent !

Formation d’un Lavaka dans le Makay par un processus d’érosion.

Panorama des politiques de reboisement à travers le monde

Alors que la déforestation est loin d’être sous contrôle et que les mesures prises pour l’enrayer sont insuffisantes, les gouvernements font le choix de campagnes massives de plantation d’arbres, souvent très médiatisées.

2011 – l’Allemagne et l’Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature (UICN) lancent le Challenge de Bonn. L’objectif est de reboiser 150 millions d’hectares d’ici 2020, afin d’enrayer la perte de surfaces forestières.

2014 – l’ambition est revu à la hausse avec la « Déclaration de New York sur les forêts » lors du Sommet sur le climat. L’objectif passe à 350 millions d’hectares avant 2030.

Les pays renchérissent en nombre d’arbres plantés ou annoncés, sans être toujours cohérents :

  • L’Australie veut planter un milliard d’arbres d’ici 2050, mais continue de couper des forêts primaires.
  • Le Pakistan annonce 10 milliards d’arbres d’ici 2030.
  • L’Inde bat un record du monde en 2017 avec 66 millions d’arbres plantés en 12 heures grâce au concours de 1,5 million de bénévoles.
  • La ville de Milan annonce un objectif de 3 millions d’arbres d’ici 2030.
  • L’Islande a planté 3 à 4 millions d’arbres depuis 2015.
  • Madagascar veut redevenir une île verte avec un objectif de 40 millions d’arbres plantés par an.
  • En 2019, l’Ethiopie a planté 363 millions d’arbres en 12h, battant le record de l’Inde. Le pays veut replanter plus de 4 milliards d’arbres dans les prochains mois. 4% du territoire est actuellement recouvert de forêts, contre 1/3 au début du 20ème siècle.

Cela fonctionne-t-il ?

Ces campagnes de plantation d’arbres, comme celles de l’Ethiopie entre 2010 et 2015, cachent souvent une dure réalité : faute d’entretien, 75% des graines semées ou des arbres plantés n’ont pas survécu.

Mais des succès passés montrent que ces campagnes – si tant est qu’elles soient bien réalisées – peuvent fonctionner :

  • En Corée du Sud, suite à un programme de reforestation massif qui a duré 25 ans, la part du territoire recouvert de forêts est passé de 35% à 64%.
  • La Chine reboise à grande échelle depuis les années 80, et prévoit de compléter en 2050 une ceinture forestière de 4500km de long pour contenir l’expansion du désert de Gobi. Si le retour de la couverture forestière est un franc succès, la plupart des zones reforestées présentent une diversité végétale extrêmement faible : entre 2 et 5 espèces d’arbres, sur un pays qui fait 40 fois la taille de la France. Les nouvelles forêts ainsi recréées ne permettent pas le retour de la biodiversité.
  • La France compte aujourd’hui plus de forêts qu’au Moyen-Âge grâce aux politiques de gestion des forêts. La surface forestière augmente, seulement 1/3 de la production annuelle de biomasse étant récoltée. Le peu de diversité des forêts y est également critiqué, notamment pour faire face aux crises de la biodiversité et du réchauffement climatique. La privatisation de l’ONF en cours (2019-2020) n’augure rien de bon pour les forêts françaises.
Evolution de la couverture forestière en France entre 1830 et 2019.
Evolution de la couverture forestière en France entre 1830 et 2019.

En savoir plus : Why Green Pledges Will Not Create the Natural Forests We Need (en anglais) est un excellent article sur les succès et les échecs des projets nationaux de reforestation.

Et le rewilding dans tout ça ?

Le rewilding – ou ré-ensauvagement – consiste à rendre des terres à la nature, soit en recréant ce qui y était avant (une forêt tropicale, une savane, etc.), soit en laissant la nature y reprendre ses droits toute seule.

Cette pratique est particulièrement nécessaire en Europe, seulement 4% du territoire y étant protégé (et de nombreux usages y restent parfois permis, comme la chasse). C’est notamment face à ce constat que l’ASPAS a créé le concept de Réserve de Vie Sauvage®, « un espace naturel dont la gestion est la non gestion, ou la libre évolution ». Les Réserves de Vie Sauvage de l’ASPAS sont reconnus comme les seuls espaces naturels de France, publics ou privés, acceptés au sein du réseau de protection de la biodiversité Rewilding Europe.

Ailleurs dans le monde, on peut citer les projets suivants :

Evolution de la couverture forestière dans le domaine de Sebastião Salgado entre 2001 et 2019.
  • Le projet d’Omar Tello, illustre inconnu qui a acheté 7 hectares de pâturages (déforesté il y a longtemps) et y a replanté pendant 30 ans des plantes qu’il a sauvées de la déforestation dans tout le pays. Il est mis à l’honneur dans une très belle vidéo (9 min).
  • Le botaniste Akira Miyawaki a développé une méthode permet de restaurer une forêt vierge sur un laps de temps extrêmement court : 30 ans au lieu de 300 ans ! On estime à 40 millions le nombre d’arbres de forêt vierge que la méthode Miyawaki a permis de planter à travers le monde. De nombreuses initiatives ont adapté la méthode Miyawaki à leur contexte local, qu’il soit tempéré ou tropical.

En conclusion : il est tout à fait possible de faire ET de la reforestation ET de favoriser la biodiversité, il suffit de bien s’y prendre. Et la priorité reste bien entendu de stopper la déforestation. On vous présente des manières concrètes de lutter contre la déforestation, classées par ordre d’importance dans notre prochain article : Comment agir contre la déforestation ?

Nos partenaires

Ce projet de reboisement est soutenu par Maltem

Un premier financement à hauteur de 10.000€ a été obtenu auprès de Maltem, permettant le lancement du projet Forêts villageoises. Maltem est un écosystème de sociétés de conseil spécialisées dans la transformation digitale et l’innovation durable, et un partenaire de Naturevolution depuis 2016.

Toute la série d’articles

Un article proposé par Gaëtan Deltour et Yann Bigant

Les commentaires sont fermés.