(1/6) Deforestation: an inventory in 2019

After launching in 2018 a Beekeeping Pilot, Naturevolution start a reforestation project near the villages of Makay: 1 Million trees for the Makay. But we could start this project without first explaining how it fits in the specific context of Makay and a worrying global context. Through 6 items we take stock of the current state and causes of deforestation in the world, in Madagascar and Makay on what governments are doing to fight against on reforestation initiatives around the world Madagascar, and finally on the most impactful actions an individual can take to fight against deforestation. An entire program !

Deforestation hotspots in 2020 (high resolution version)
Source: WWF, report Deforestaton Fronts : drivers and responses in a changing world, 2021.

A disturbing trend

The phenomenon of deforestation caused by the development of human activity is not new. Long before the development of agriculture, Wise man had a considerable impact on forests, but the low population density and mobility of the hunter-gatherer allowed the forests to regenerate to a certain extent.

However, that massive deforestation continues in the 21st century in a context of scarcity of forest area rich in biodiversity, extinction of living crisis and fast global warming is extremely worrying. Considered "out of control" in many countries of the world, the current deforestation would it not the result of our choices in life?

The phenomenon has even worsened in some countries. In Brazil for example, where deforestation had however declined dramatically until 2012Thanks to political will (due in particular to the expansion of protected areas) and the use of satellite imagery, she left with a vengeance.

In the month of June 2019 a significant acceleration of the Amazon deforestation was reported byNational Institute for Space Research of Brazil "Sulawesi, expedition to the heart of the mystery island" in replay on Arte In one month is 920 km2 of rainforest disappeared. End 2019, INPE notes that Deforestation in Brazil has doubled in 2019 compared to 2018, a direct result of the messages of the Brazilian president. A decline does not bode well for biodiversity and indigenous peoples precisely when the European Union has signed a free trade agreement with South American states (Mercosur), a qualified agreement "complete contradiction with our climate ambitions"By Nicolas Hulot.

What are the numbers?

according to the annual report by Global Forest Watch, the world has lost in 2018, 12 million hectares of tropical forests, including 3.64 million primary tropical forest equivalent to Belgium! This is the fourth worst year in terms of deforestation of the rainforest, after 2016, 2017 and 2014 since the first recordings in 2001.

The countries most affected by deforestation are Brazil, Indonesia and the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) - three countries that concentrate nearly 60% of tropical forests of our planet. Some forests have long been spared because of civil wars that lasted several decades, as in Colombia, DRC or Myanmar (Burma), but with the end or slowing these conflicts, these forests are seen as so many new opportunities operating.

Different causes by continent

According to the Report on the Global State Forestry published by FAO in 2016, near 80% of global deforestation is caused by agriculture (30-35% for subsistence agriculture and 45-50% for commercial or industrial agriculture) and 20% by infrastructure construction, mining and urbanization. But the causes of deforestation are radically different from one continent to another.

Map of ecosystems subject to the risk of deforestation in South America

South America
If we look again for Brazil, the causes of deforestation in 2018 were to 65-70% the creation of pasture for livestock (Brazil exports many beef) and 25-30% for agriculture (especially the export of soybeans to China and Europe for their farms). Infrastructure, mining and forestry, and urban expansion account for only a small part of deforestation.

The situation is similar in other countries (Bolivia, Peru, Colombia, Paraguay, etc.) and does not concern the Amazon basin. Less known, the September 22 and Closed are increasingly affected by deforestation.

The September 22Straddling several countries home the largest dry forest in Latin America and savannah and wetlands. The ClosedLocated mainly in Brazil, is a vast tropical savanna composed of many types of natural habitats - forestée savanna, moist savanna, gallery forests, etc. - and hosts a extremely rich and diverse biodiversity. These two environments less subject to political pressure that Amazon, experiencing unprecedented deforestation especially caused by Europe.

South East Asia
In Indonesia and Malaysia, engine deforestation is palm oil. In the Mekong region (Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam), these are the rubber plantations for rubber, used mainly for the manufacture of tires. Other commodities also intended for export join them: for example Java pepper on the island of Sulawesi, or coffee in Vietnam.

Unlike Latin America, a significant part of deforestation in Asia is also due to local agriculture and, to a lesser extent, to infrastructure development, urban expansion and mining. .

Pepper plantation on the island of Sulawesi, Indonesia.

Africa
The majority of African deforestation is grown by small farmers who produce local subsistence agriculture. This is particularly the case in Madagascar, where deforestation is caused by the clearing of forest for slash and burn (Exhibition “Makay, a refuge in Malagasy land” at the Musée des Confluences) Or for the production of charcoal for cooking.

But this is changing. For ten years, the forests of Central Africa and West Africa are seen as the 'El Dorado' of industrial agriculture, where virgin forests are replaced by plantations to meet demand commodities in the international market. The forests of the Congo, Cameroon and you Gabon are threatened by the expansion of palm oil. In Ivory Coast and Ghana, we deforest even in protected areas to produce cocoa for export.

Bushfire in the Makay massif in Madagascar.

Australia
More rarely mentioned, Australia is the only developed country to appear among the 10 hotspots of deforestation, due to a lack of political will and inappropriate laws. The main reason for the destruction of forests there is again the extension of pastures for the production of beef, as well as the development of commercial plantations and clear cutting of forests for the paper industry, including primary forests in Tasmania. Australia is home to an endemic biodiversity that is unique in the world and some forests are there. among the oldest in the world. Deforestation threatens at least 700 Australian animal and plant species, including iconic species like the koala.

What prospects for the future?

The future is bleak ad for large tropical forests and their biodiversity. Subject to numerous local anthropogenic pressures (deforestation for agricultural expansion, degradation by logging, poaching), to which is added that of climate change which increases the risk of fires and requires species to move rapidly (300 meters / year), it could remain the great tropical forests fragments severely degraded at the end of the century.

Facing thegovernment inaction for deforestation, it is urgent to act and how many are. One more you said in this article: How to act against deforestation?

Our Partners

Initial funding to the tune of € 10,000 was obtained from Ermada - Sale of Malagasy handicraftsEnabling the launch of 1 Million trees project for the Makay. Maltem is an ecosystem of specialized consulting companies in the digital transformation and sustainable innovation, and a partner of Naturevolution since 2016.

The entire series of articles

An article written by Gaëtan Deltour and Yann Bigant

Learn more about this project

Reforest the periphery of the New Protected Area of ​​Makay

Comments are closed.

(1/6) La déforestation : un état des lieux en 2019

Après avoir lancé en 2018 un projet pilote d’apiculture, Naturevolution démarre un projet de reboisement à proximité des villages du Makay : 1 Million d’arbres pour le Makay. Mais nous ne pouvions lancer ce projet sans vous expliquer au préalable comment celui-ci s’inscrit dans le contexte précis du Makay et dans un contexte global préoccupant. À travers 6 articles nous faisons le point sur l’état actuel et les causes de la déforestation dans le monde, à Madagascar et dans le Makay, sur ce que les gouvernements font pour lutter contre, sur les initiatives de reboisement à travers le monde et à Madagascar, et enfin sur les actions les plus impactantes qu’un individu peut avoir pour lutter contre la déforestation. Tout un programme !

Hotspots de la déforestation en 2020 (version haute résolution)
Source : WWF, rapport Deforestaton Fronts : drivers and responses in a changing world, 2021.

Une tendance inquiétante

Le phénomène de déforestation engendré par le développement des activités humaines n’est pas récent. Bien avant le développement de l’agriculture, Homo sapiens avait déjà un impact considérable sur les forêts, mais la faible densité démographique et la mobilité du chasseur-cueilleur permettait aux forêts de se régénérer dans une certaine mesure.

En revanche, que la déforestation massive perdure au 21ème siècle dans un contexte de raréfaction des surfaces forestières riches en biodiversité, de crise d’extinction du vivant, et de réchauffement climatique rapide est extrêmement inquiétant. Considéré comme « hors de contrôle » dans de nombreux pays du monde, la déforestation actuelle ne serait-elle pas le résultat de nos choix de vie?

Le phénomène s’est même aggravé dans certains pays. Au Brésil par exemple, où la déforestation avait pourtant connu une diminution spectaculaire jusqu’en 2012, grâce à une volonté politique (liée notamment à l’extension des zones protégées) et l’utilisation de l’imagerie satellite, elle est repartie de plus belle.

Au mois de juin 2019 une accélération importante de la déforestation de l’Amazonie a été signalé par l’Institut National de Recherche Spatiale du Brésil (INPE). En un mois, c’est 920 km2 de forêt tropicale qui ont disparu. Fin 2019, l’INPE constate que la déforestation au Brésil a doublé en 2019 par rapport à 2018, une conséquence directe des messages du président brésilien. Un recul qui n’augure rien de bon pour la biodiversité et les peuples autochtones précisément au moment où l’Union Européenne vient de signer un accord de libre échange avec les états d’Amérique du Sud (Mercosur), un accord qualifié de « contradiction complète avec nos ambitions climatiques » par Nicolas Hulot.

Que disent les chiffres ?

Selon le rapport annuel de Global Forest Watch, le monde a perdu en 2018, 12 millions d’hectares de forêts tropicales, dont 3,64 millions de forêts tropicales primaires soit l’équivalent de la Belgique ! Il s’agit là de la quatrième plus mauvaise année en terme de déforestation de la forêt tropicale, après 2016, 2017 et 2014 depuis les premiers enregistrements réalisés en 2001.

Les pays les plus concernés par la déforestation sont le Brésil, l’Indonésie et la République Démocratique du Congo (RDC) – trois pays qui concentrent presque 60% des forêts tropicales de notre planète. Certaines forêts ont longtemps été épargnées à cause de guerres civiles qui ont duré plusieurs décennies, comme en Colombie, en RDC ou au Myanmar (Birmanie), mais avec la fin ou le ralentissement de ces conflits, ces forêts sont vues comme autant de nouvelles opportunités d’exploitation.

Des causes différentes selon les continents

D’après le rapport sur l’Etat Mondial des Forêts publié par la FAO en 2016, près de 80% de la déforestation mondiale est causée par l’agriculture (30-35% pour de l’agriculture de subsistance et 45-50% pour l’agriculture commerciale ou industrielle) et 20% par la construction d’infrastructures, les activités minières et l’urbanisation. Mais les causes de la déforestation sont radicalement différentes d’un continent à l’autre.

Carte des écosystèmes soumis au risque de déforestation en Amérique du Sud

Amérique du Sud
Si l’on regarde encore le cas du Brésil, les causes de la déforestation en 2018 ont été à 65-70% la création de pâturages pour l’élevage (le Brésil exporte beaucoup de viande de bœuf) et à 25-30% pour l’agriculture (notamment l’exportation du soja vers la Chine et l’Europe pour leurs élevages). Les infrastructures, l’exploitation minière et forestière, et l’expansion urbaine ne représentent qu’une petite partie de la déforestation.

La situation est similaire dans d’autres pays (Bolivie, Péru, Colombie, Paraguay, etc.) et ne concerne pas que le bassin Amazonien. Moins connus, le Gran Chaco et le Cerrado sont de plus en touchés par la déforestation.

Le Gran Chaco, à cheval sur plusieurs pays, abrite la plus grande forêt sèche d’amérique latine ainsi que des savanes et des zones humides. Le Cerrado, situé principalement au Brésil, est une immense savane tropicale composée de nombreux types d’habitats naturels – savane forestée, savane humide, forêts galeries, etc. – et héberge une biodiversité extrêment riche et diversifiée. Ces deux milieux, moins soumis à la pression politique que l’Amazone, connaissent une déforestation sans précédent, notamment causée par l’Europe.

Asie du Sud-Est
En Indonésie et en Malaisie, le moteur de la déforestation est l’huile de palme. Dans la région du Mékong (Thaïlande, Cambodge, Laos, Vietnam), ce sont les plantations d’hévéas pour le caoutchouc, utilisé majoritairement pour la fabrication de pneus. D’autres commodités également destinées à l’exportation les rejoignent : par exemple le poivre de Java sur l’île de Sulawesi, ou le café au Vietnam.

A l’inverse de l’Amérique Latine, une part importante de la déforestation en Asie est également due à l’agriculture locale et, dans une moindre mesure, au développement d’infrastructures, à l’expansion urbaine et à l’exploitation minière.

Plantation de poivre sur l’île de Sulawesi, en Indonésie.

Afrique
La majorité de la déforestation africaine est le fait de petits paysans qui produisent une agriculture locale de subsistance. C’est notamment le cas à Madagascar, où la déforestation est causée par le défrichement de la forêt pour la culture sur brûlis (tavy) ou pour la production de charbon de bois pour la cuisson.

Mais c’est en train de changer. Depuis une dizaine d’années, les forêts d’Afrique centrale et d’Afrique de l’ouest sont vues comme le ‘nouvel eldorado’ de l’agriculture industrielle, où des forêts vierges peuvent être remplacées par des plantations répondant à la demande en commodités du marché international. Les forêts du Congo, du Cameroon et du Gabon sont menacées par l’expansion de l’huile de palme. En Côte d’Ivoire et au Ghana, on déforeste jusque dans les aires protégées pour produire du cacao destiné à l’exportation.

Feu de brousse dans le massif du Makay, à Madagascar.

Australie
Plus rarement évoqué, l’Australie est le seul pays développé à figurer parmi les 10 hotspots de la déforestation, du à un manque de volonté politique et à des lois inadaptées. La principale raison de la destruction des forêts y est là encore l’extension des pâturages pour la production de viande bovine, ainsi que le développement des plantations commerciales et la coupe rase de forêts pour l’industrie papetière, y compris de forêts primaires en Tasmanie. L’Australie abrite pourtant une biodiversité endémique unique au monde et certaines forêts y sont parmi les plus anciennes du monde. La déforestation menace au moins 700 espèces australiennes animales et végétales, notamment des espèces emblématiques comme le koala.

Quelles perspectives pour le futur ?

Le futur s’annonce sombre pour les grandes forêts tropicales et leur biodiversité. Soumises à de nombreuses pressions anthropiques locales (déforestation pour expansion agricole, dégradation par l’exploitation forestière, braconnage), auxquelles s’ajoutent celle du changement climatique qui augmente les risques d’incendies et impose aux espèces un déplacement géographique rapide (300 mètres/an), il ne pourrait rester des grandes forêts tropicales que quelques fragments fortement dégradés à la fin du siècle.

Face à l’inaction des gouvernements en matière de déforestation, il est urgent d’agir et les moyens sont nombreux. On vous en dit plus dans cet article : Comment agir contre la déforestation ?

Nos partenaires

Un premier financement à hauteur de 10.000€ a été obtenu auprès de Maltem, permettant le lancement du projet 1 Million d’arbres pour le Makay. Maltem est un écosystème de sociétés de conseil spécialisées dans la transformation digitale et l’innovation durable, et un partenaire de Naturevolution depuis 2016.

Toute la série d’articles

Un article rédigé par Gaëtan Deltour et Yann Bigant

Découvrez ce projet en détail

Reboiser le pourtour de la Nouvelle Aire Protégée du Makay

Les commentaires sont fermés.