Workshop on crown-of-thorns starfish management in Kendari

TRAINING WORKSHOP - Following our investigation on crown-of-thorns starfish (COTS) encountered on the coral reefs of Southeast Sulawesi, we took this year the first step towards a coordinated response addressing the COTS oubreaks threat by organizing a training workshop in Kendari with all relevant stakeholders of the province.

Afifah, one of the participants in the "Managing COTS oubreaks on the coral reefs of Southeast Sulawesi" field training, injects a crown-of-thorns starfish with vinegar using a locally made injection kits. © Risfandi ‘Otonk’ / Langkoe Dive Center

The project

Following our discussions with Pascal Dumas, a marine biologist specialized in COTS at IRD New Caledonia, and faced with a local demand for solutions, we initiated in 2021 a new project on the detection and management of COTS outbreaks on the reefs of the province. This project fits within the larger framework of our work for the protection of coral reefs in Sulawesi.

COTS outbreaks being one of the main causes of coral reef mortality in the Indo-Pacific region and likely the only one against which it is reasonably possible to act at the local level with a definite impact, this project became an obvious choice.

The aim of the project is to replicate in Sulawesi a strategy developed by Pascal and his colleagues in New Caledonia, Fiji and Vanuatu where coral reefs are monitored by local users triggering, when a COTS outbreak is detected, the intervention of a dedicated team.

A remote training workshop

This activity is the result of a collaboration between IRD - through its representation in Jakarta - and our local partners, Naturevolution Indonesia and Toli Toli Giant Clam Conservation. The training was organized in collaboration with the manager of the protected areas of the province (BKSDA Southeast Sulawesi) and the agency of marine resources (BPSPL Sulawesi, Kendari section), but also with researchers from the two main universities of Kendari.

To better introduce the training, we prepared in English and in Indonesian a training document (10 pages long!) covering the main aspects related to COTS ecology, the outbreak phenomenon and the possible solutions to deal with it.

The workshop took place over a conference call at the end of June. Switching between presentations, videos and interactions between Pascal and the participants, the main aspects regarding the management of COTS were covered.

Imut, now operational director of Naturevolution Indonesia, managed the training on the Kendari side.

Field practice training in Labengki

Training was then continued in the field. Eager to spread knowledge and awareness as much as possible, we invited most of the diving clubs in the province. The team - now made up of about twenty people - went to Labengki to practice the monitoring protocol (actively searching and counting COTS over a 10-minute timed-swim), analyzing the results (something that can be counter-intuitive), and injecting COTS.

Not having been able to purchase dedicated COTS injection kits, Memed, who already joined the 2018 crown-of-thorns starfish investigation and today director of Naturevolution Indonesia, made 5 injection kits using parts available in Indonesia (locally in Kendari and on Tokopedia). This allowed us to test the feasibility of locally manufacturing the kits, with the aim of publishing online a DIY tutorial so that every diving club in Indonesia can make their own injection kits themselves.

Check photos and video of the training on our channels on Instagram and Facebook.

Local media broadcasting

Thanks to the presence of Ino, journalist, cameraman and diver, the workshop was echoed in local media, for instance here and there. In the reportage below (in indonesian with English subtitles) broadcast on local TV, Habib, our local partner, introduces the issue of crown-of-thorns starfish and describes the field activities carried out during the training. If the video below doesn't display properly, it is available here on YouTube. IRD also published a communiqué on their website.

What's next for the project?

First, we are publishing online all of the resources that we have compiled during this training - training document, slides, videos, tutorial for manufacturing the injection kit, etc. - in order to set up a "COTS Resource Center" in both English and Indonesian, allowing each coral reef stakeholder to train him/herself and to acquire or manufacture the necessary equipment.

In order to go even further, we are in discussion with institutional partners to set up an online platform to report COTS citizen observations for Sulawesi island on the model of the OREANET network, thus allowing management institutions and specialized organizations to raise an alert when COTS outbreaks are detected by citizens.

The field training participants at Toli Toli GCC's headquarters after the training. Motivation is high!

Learn more about this project

For the preservation and rehabilitation of reefs in the heart of the coral triangle

Read on

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × five =

Atelier de formation à la gestion des acanthasters

FORMATION – Suite à nos investigations sur les étoiles de mer couronnes d’épines rencontrées sur les récifs Sulawesi, nous avons cette année posé les bases d’une réponse coordonnée à ces infestations en organisant à Kendari un atelier de formation avec les parties prenantes au niveau de la province.

Afifah, une des participant.e.s à la formation terrain « Gestion des infestations d’acanthasters sur les récifs coralliens de Sulawesi du Sud-Est » injecte une couronnes d’épines avec les kits à injections fabriqués localement. © Risfandi ‘Otonk’ / Langkoe Dive Center

L’idée du projet

Dans la lignée de nos échanges avec Pascal Dumas, chercheur spécialiste des acanthasters à l’IRD de Nouvelle-Calédonie, et face à une demande locale en solutions, nous avons initié en 2021 un nouveau projet sur la détection et la gestion des infestations d’acanthasters sur les récifs de la province. Ce projet s’inscrit dans le cadre plus vaste de nos activités pour la protection des récifs coralliens de Sulawesi.

Les infestations d’acanthasters étant l’une des principales causes de mortalité des récifs coralliens de la région Indo-Pacifique et sans doute la seule contre laquelle il est raisonnablement possible d’agir au niveau local avec un impact certain, ce projet s’est naturellement imposé.

L’idée est de répliquer à Sulawesi une stratégie développée par Pascal et ses collègues en Nouvelle-Calédonie, au Fiji et au Vanuatu via une surveillance des récifs par les usagers déclenchant, en cas d’infestations avérée, l’intervention d’une équipe dédiée.

Une formation théorique en distanciel

Cet évenement est le fruit d’une collaboration entre d’une part l’IRD – via sa représentation à Jakarta – et d’autre part nos partenaires locaux, Naturevolution Indonesia et Toli Toli Giant Clam Conservation. L’ensemble de la formation fut organisée en collaboration avec le gestionnaire des aires protégées de la province (BKSDA Southeast Sulawesi) et l’agence des ressources marines (BPSPL Sulawesi, délégation de Kendari), mais aussi avec des chercheurs venus des deux principales universités de la province.

En prélude à la formation, nous avons élaboré en anglais et en indonésien un document de formation (synthétique… en 10 pages !) couvrant les principaux éléments relatifs à l’écologie des acanthasters, au phénomène des infestations et aux réponses à leur apporter.

L’atelier a lieu en visio sur une demi-journée fin juin. Via une alternance entre présentations, extraits vidéos et interactions entre Pascal et les participants, les principaux aspects concernant la gestion des acanthasters ont été abordés.

Imut, aujourd’hui directrice opérationnelle de Naturevolution Indonésie, a animé la formation côté Kendari.

Poursuite de la formation sur le terrain

La formation s’est ensuite poursuivie sur le terrain. Soucieux de diffuser ces connaissances le plus largement possible, nous avions invité une majorité des clubs de plongée de la province. L’équipe – maintenant constituée d’une vingtaine de personnes – s’est rendue à Labengki pour pratiquer le protocole de suivi (recherche active et comptage des couronnes d’épines sur une durée de 10 minutes), l’analyse parfois contre-intuitive des données récoltées et s’entraîner à l’injection des acanthasters.

N’ayant pu nous procurer à l’avance des kits à injection d’acanthasters dédiés, Memed, déjà présent sur la mission acanthasters de 2018 et aujourd’hui directeur de Naturevolution Indonésie, a fabriqué une demi-douzaine de kits à l’aide de pièces disponibles en Indonésie. Cela nous a permis de tester la faisabilité de fabriquer les kits localement, l’idée étant de diffuser en ligne un tutoriel afin que chaque club de plongée en Indonésie puisse fabriquer ses propres kits à injections.

Voir quelques photos et vidéo sur nos chaînes Instagram et Facebook.

Diffusion dans les médias locaux

Grâce à la présence d’Ino, journaliste, caméraman et plongeur, l’événement a eu un certain retentissement auprès des médias locaux, par exemple ici et . Dans le reportage ci-dessous (en indonésien sous-titrée anglais) diffusé sur la télévision locale, Habib, notre partenaire, présente la problématique des acanthasters et retrace les activités menées sur le terrain au cours de la formation. Si la vidéo ne s’affiche pas ci-dessous, elle est visible ici sur youtube. L’IRD a également publié un communiqué sur leur site.

Quelle suite pour ce projet ?

Dans un premier temps, nous sommes en train de mettre en ligne l’ensemble des ressources que nous avons compilées lors de cette formation – document de formation, visuels, vidéos, tutoriel de fabrication des kits à injection, etc. – afin de constituer un « Pôle ressources Acanthasters » en anglais et en indonésien, permettant à chaque partie prenante des récifs coralliens de se former à cette problématique et d’acquérir ou de fabriquer les outils nécessaires.

Afin d’aller encore plus loin, nous sommes en discussion avec des partenaires institutionnels afin de mettre en ligne une plateforme de reporting des observations citoyennes d’acanthasters pour l’île de Sulawesi sur le modèle du réseau OREANET, permettant ainsi aux institutions gestionnaires et aux organisations spécialisées de donner l’alerte en cas de détection citoyenne d’infestations.

Les participants de la formation terrain au siège de Toli Toli à l’issue de la formation. La motivation est au rendez-vous !

Découvrez ce projet en détail

Pour la préservation et la réhabilitation de récifs au coeur du triangle de corail

Poursuivez votre lecture

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

quatre × un =