Shipping Konawe

Following the preparatory mission Matarombeo 2014A new expedition is planned in the Konawe karsts. Its purpose is to lead a multi-disciplinary team of international scientists into the heart of the Matarombeo massif and the coral reefs and mongroves of the Matarape bay. They will not only carry out a survey as complete as possible of its biodiversity, but will also study the impact of human activities on the local ecosystems. This expedition will provide many arguments for the start of a conservation program.

Download the expedition brochure : French | English | Indonesian

Exploring the massive Matarombeo

Passage underground during the progression through the rivers on the banks of massive Matarombeo. Shipping 2014 Sulawesi.

The Matarombeo karst

The massive Matarombeo located in all Konawe karstsIs the archetype quintessential Lost World unexplored. The land is particularly complicated in particular because of its tormented geology and its dense forest, the conduct of this expedition will ask technical skills and physical feats researchers as well as important logistics.

This will include crossing the mountains from start to finish, down wayward quick, sharp climb peaks, traverse underground for several days, to move on and under the canopy of the virgin rainforest.

Tarsier

A tarsier Massif Matarombeo. The tarsiers, which are distinguished by the size of their eyes and the development of their feet, are a family of haplorhiniens primates (ie 'without nose', opposite lemurs), like monkeys.

A strong potential of biological discoveries

L & rsquo; Sulawesi island constitutes the major part of Wallacea, An area known for biogeographically the richness, diversity and the high rate of endemism of its biodiversity 98% of mammals are endemic, and a third of birds and almost 80% of amphibians. She also knows the world's greatest concentration of butterflies. Often compared to the Galapagos, it is now one of 34 global biodiversity hotspots.

The karstic massif Matarombeo is one of the last areas virtually untouched and almost completely unexplored Sulawesi. This particular location makes it both a natural environment with incredible potential discoveries d & rsquo; new species for science, and a last bastion of biodiversity 'the urgent need to protect facing a growing number of threats.

The exploration of this lost world will also underground, Karst the required conditions for the development of a huge underground network, perhaps the largest in this region. Finally, some rock paintings, masks and tombs were found in the foothills, a team of archaeologists will also participate in the mission.

Rivers of massive Matarombeo offer pathways, but not easy.

Evrard Wendenbaum in the rapids of Matarombeo. Rivers of massive Matarombeo offer pathways, but are not easy! Photo © Phil Bence.

Logistics and technical resources

The Lasolo Lalindu and rivers surround the massive north and south along its length, providing relatively quick access to different parts of the massif. As in previous expeditions and recognitions, "packrafts" small inflatable boats, will be on hand to use these natural channels, which include in particular Navigable underground sections.

Just as the ocean depths, the canopy is a natural environment in its own little known and particularly that difficult to study. Scientists estimate that 70 to 90% of the life of rainforests is not at ground level, but high in the trees, making the richest canopy habitat for plants and animals. The Canopy BubbleA helium balloon which moves on a cable attached to the top of the canopy, will have access to this particular environment or to install a network of a hundred traps camera to capture all unsuspected interactions arboreal wildlife.

The bubble floating peaks above the canopy.

The Canopy Bubble, developed by Dany Cleyet-Marrel, provides an easy way to set up to access the canopy. Photo © Dany Cleyet-Marrel / Radeau-des-cimes.org

Finally, the use of a helicopter will be essential for an expedition of this magnitude on a difficult pitch. Limiting factor on the mission Matarombeo 2014, because of its cost and its environmental impact, it will be used on future shipping sparingly. He used to carry materials and depositing scientists in isolated areas in the heart of the massif, to avoid days or weeks porting, while increasing the length of the field research.

Exploration caving in the massive Matarombeo. Sulawesi Island, Indonesia.

Exploration caving in the massive Matarombeo when shipping Phil Bence 2014. Photo / Naturevolution.

Scientifiques et exploration objectives

Biodiversity & Evolution
One of the main aspects of the expedition will be to achieve the fullest possible inventory of biodiversity Massif Matarombeo to bring concrete evidence of his wealth and power subsequently argue for a statute and a conservation program. Moreover, endemism and difficult terrain are the major characteristics of this massive Sulawesi, the study of factors that led to the diversification of species always proves as exciting and vibrant.

Inventory of biodiversity
Evaluate and explore biodiversity by conventional approaches (observations, collections) and new exploration (bubble peaks, zip) in surface ecosystems (soil, canopy).
Factors species evolution and adaptation to the environment
Consider the geographical isolation and gradients elevation as a vector for the diversification and endemic Sulawesi relying on different taxonomic groups: mammals, fish and crabs.

Biodiversity & Conservation
The ecosystems on the edge of the massive Matarombeo, as well as Bay Matarape are in contact with more or less direct manned and operated by human environments. It is therefore necessary as a prelude to a conservation strategy, firstly assess theimpact of human activities on these ecosystemsAnd secondly to measure the services provided by different ecosystems for the recovery of the.

Impact of human impacts on animal populations
Compare the diversity and composition of faunal communities depending on the habitat anthropization (primary forest, secondary forest, forest plantations), studying birds, amphibians and reptitles and ants and spiders.
Impact of mining and forest plantations
Analyze the impact of mines and plantations on sensitive areas such as the Bay of Matarape Lowe and swamps using bio-indicators (Heterobranches, Phytoplankton, Odonata, Fourmies, spiders, reptiles and amphibians, Birdlife).
Study of the services provided by ecosystems and biodiversity
Studying Biodiversity and Ecosystem Approaches in terms of ecosystem services: pollinators (bats, butterflies, bees); soil composition (pedofauna); the role of mangroves (coastal protection, prevention of increase in sea level, nursery species, carbon sequestration, bio-filter against heavy metals); the role of reefs (coastal protection, abundant fisheries, tourism, medical future).
Archaeological treasures Matarombeo

The Matarombeo massif is rich with rock paintings and archaeological remains.

Exploration & Caving
Underground networks, far from being lifeless, host species and ecosystems well adapted to their particular conditions. Still little known, potential immense underground networks at the heart of area Matarombeo bodes well curious encounters.

Inventory of subterranean fauna
Establish a first inventory of underground fauna (insects, spiders, bats and fish).
Exploration of underground networks
Complete knowledge of underground networks Karst Matarombeo.
Inventory of Archaeological Heritage
Continuing the description of known archaeological sites and prospect for new sites.

Partners

Find current and past partners on this page. We are currently in the editing shipping Konawe and looking for partners to join us. If you want to associate yourself with this project, thank you to contact us via our contact form.

Download the expedition brochure : French | English | Indonesian

A pit viper in the Matarombeo massif, Sulawesi island, Indonesia.

The Matarombeo range is home to an exceptional biodiversity, but not always harmless…

L’expédition Konawe 2018

A la suite de la mission scientifique Matarombeo 2014, une nouvelle expédition est prévue fin 2018 dans les karsts du Konawe, comprenant le massif de Matarombeo et la baie de Matarape. L’objectif de celle-ci est d’accéder cette fois au cœur du massif de Matarombeo et d’y mener plus de scientifiques pluridisciplinaires et internationaux afin de réaliser un inventaire de sa biodiversité le plus complet possible.

= \ = Cette page est en cours de construction = / =

Le karst de Matarombeo

Le massif de Matarombeo, situé dans l’ensemble des karsts du Konawe, est l’archétype par excellence du Monde Perdu inexploré. Le terrain étant particulièrement compliqué notamment du fait de sa géologie tourmentée et de la densité de sa forêt, la conduite de cette expédition demandera des compétences et des prouesses techniques et physiques aux chercheurs ainsi que d’importants moyens logistiques.

Il s’agira notamment pour traverser le massif de bout en bout, de descendre des rapides capricieux, de gravir des sommets acérés, de parcourir des galeries souterraines pendant plusieurs jours, de se déplacer sous et sur la canopée de cette forêt tropicale vierge.

Exploration du massif de Matarombeo

Passage sous terre lors de la progression via les rivières sur les bords du massif de Matarombeo. Expédition 2014, Sulawesi.

Un fort potentiel en découvertes biologiques

L’île de Sulawesi constitue la majeure partie de la Wallacea, une zone biogéographique connue pour la richesse, la diversité et le fort taux d’endémisme de sa biodiversité : 98% des mammifères y sont endémiques, ainsi qu’un tiers des oiseaux et près de 80% des amphibiens. Elle connaît également la plus forte concentration mondiale de papillons. Souvent comparée aux Galapagos, elle est aujourd’hui l’un des 34 hotspots de biodiversité mondial.

Tarsier

Un tarsier du massif de Matarombeo. Les tarsiers, qui se distinguent par la taille de leurs yeux et le développement de leurs pieds, sont une famille de primates haplorhiniens (c’est à dire ‘sans nez’, à l’opposé des lémuriens), comme les singes.

Le massif karstique de Matarombeo est l’une des dernières zones quasiment intacte et presque intégralement inexplorée de l’île de Sulawesi. Cette situation particulière en fait à la fois un milieu naturel présentant un potentiel incroyable de découvertes d’espèces nouvelles pour la science, et un ‘dernier bastion de la biodiversité’ qu’il est urgent de protéger face à un nombre grandissant de menaces.

L’exploration de ce monde perdu se fera aussi sous terre, le karst présentant les conditions requises au développement d’un gigantesque réseau souterrain, peut-être le plus grand de cette région du monde. Enfin, des peintures rupestres, des masques et des sépultures ayant été repérés dans les contreforts du massif, une équipe d’archéologues participera également à la mission.

Les trésors archéologiques du Matarombeo

Le massif du Matarombeo est riche en peintures rupestres et vestiges archéologiques.

Logistique et moyens techniques

Les rivières Lasolo et Lalindu encadrent le massif au nord et au sud sur toute sa longueur, fournissant des accès relativement rapides en différents points du massif. Comme lors des expéditions et reconnaissances précédentes, les « packrafts », des petits bateaux gonflables, seront de la partie pour utiliser ces voies naturelles, qui comportent notamment des sections souterraines navigables.

Les rivières du massif de Matarombeo offrent des voies accès, mais qui ne sont pas de tout repos.

Evrard Wendenbaum dans les rapides de Matarombeo. Les rivières du massif de Matarombeo offrent des voies accès, mais qui ne sont pas de tout repos ! Photo ©Phil Bence.

Au même titre que les profondeurs des océans, la canopée est un milieu naturel à part entière très peu connu et particulièrement difficle à étudier. Les scientifiques estiment que 70 à 90% de la vie des forêts humides ne se trouve pas au niveau du sol, mais bien en hauteur dans les arbres, faisant de la canopée le plus riche habitat pour les plantes et les animaux. La Bulle des cîmes, un ballon d’hélium qui se déplace sur un cable fixé au sommet de la canopée, permettra d’avoir accès à ce milieu particulier, voire d’y installer un réseau d’une centaine de caméra traps afin de capturer l’ensemble des interactions insoupçonnées de la faune en haute.

La bulle des cimes flottant au-dessus de la canopée.

La Bulle des cimes, développée par Dany Cleyet-Marrel, offre un moyen facile à mettre en place pour accéder à la canopée. Photo ©Dany Cleyet-Marrel / Radeau-des-cimes.org

Finalement, l’utilisation d’un hélicoptère sera incontournable pour une expédition d’une telle ampleur sur un terrain aussi difficile. Facteur limitant sur l’expédition Matarombeo 2014, en raison de son coût et de son impact environnemental, il sera utilisé sur l’expédition 2018 avec parcimonie. Il servira à acheminer du matériel et à déposer des scientifiques sur des milieux isolés au cœur du massif, permettant d’éviter des jours, voire des semaines de portage, tout en augmentant la durée des recherches sur le terrain.

Objectifs scientifiques et exploration

Biodiversité & Évolution
Un des volets principal de l’expédition sera de réaliser l’inventaire le plus complet possible de la biodiversité du massif de Matarombeo afin de ramener des preuves concrètes de sa richesse et de pouvoir par la suite argumenter en faveur d’un statut et d’un programme de conservation. Par ailleurs, l’endémisme et la difficulté du terrain étant des caractéristiques majeures de ce massif de Sulawesi, l’étude des facteurs ayant conduit à la diversification des espèces se révèle toujours aussi passionants.

Inventaire de la biodiversité
Evaluer et explorer la diversité biologique par des approches classiques (observations, collectes) et nouvelles d’exploration (bulle des cimes, tyrolienne) dans les écosystèmes de surface (sol, canopée).
Facteurs d'évolution des espèces et adaptation au milieu
Etudier l’isolation géographique et les gradients d’élévation comme vecteur de la diversification et de l’endémisme à Sulawesi en s’appuyant sur différents groupes taxonomiques : Mammifères, Poissons et Crabes.

Biodiversité & Conservation
Les écosystèmes situés sur le pourtour du massif de Matarombeo, ainsi que ceux de la baie de Matarape, sont en contact plus ou moins direct avec des milieux habités et exploités par l’homme. Il est donc nécessaire, en prélude à une stratégie de conservation, d’une part d’évaluer l’impact des activités humaines sur ces écosystèmes, et d’autre part de mesurer les services rendus par les différents écosystèmes pour mieux les valoriser.

Impact de l'anthropisation sur les populations animales
Comparer la diversité et la composition des communautés faunistiques en fonction de l’anthropisation de l’habitat (forêt primaire, forêt secondaire, plantations forestières), en étudiant les oiseaux, reptitles et amphibiens, ainsi que les fourmis et les araignées.
Impact des exploitations minières et des plantations forestières
Analyser l’impact des mines et des plantations forestières sur les milieux sensibles que sont la baie de Matarape et les marécages de Lowe à l’aide de bioindicateurs (Heterobranches, Phytoplancton, Odonates, Fourmies, Araignées, Herpetofaune, Avifaune).
Étude des services fournis par les écosystèmes et la biodiversité
Etudier la biodiversité et les écosytèmes au regard des services écosystémiques rendus : les pollinisateurs (chauves-souris, papillons, abeilles) ; la décomposition du sol (pédofaune) ; le rôle des mangroves (protection des côtes, prévention de l’augmentation du niveau de la mer, pépinières d’espèces, séquestration du carbone, biofiltre contre les métaux lourds) ; le rôle des récifs (protection côtière, abondance des pêcheries, tourisme, avenir médical).

Exploration & Spéléologie
Les réseaux souterrains, loin d’être dénués de vie, hébergent des espèces et des écosystèmes adaptés à leurs conditions bien particulières. Encore peu connus, le potentiel d’immenses réseaux souterrains au cœur du massif de Matarombeo laisse présager de bien curieuses rencontres.

Inventaire de la faune souterraine
Etablir un premier inventaire de la faune souterraine (insectes, araignées, chauves-souris et poissons).
Exploration des réseaux souterrains
Compléter les connaissances sur les réseaux souterrains du karst de Matarombeo.
Inventaire du patrimoine archéologique
Poursuivre la description des sites archéologiques connus et prospecter pour de nouveaux sites.

Une équipe aguerrie aux milieux difficiles

– La connaissance du site d’Evrard Wendenbaum et son expérience de conduite d’expéditions scientifiques en milieu difficile
– Une équipe rodée aux challenges techniques et logistiques suite aux expéditions Makay 2017 et Scoresby 2016
– une équipe de tournage spécialisée dans les documentaires en terrain difficile
– des scientifiques les meilleurs dans leur domaine

Le plan de communication de l’expédition

– Un suivi de l’expédition en direct
– La réalisation d’un documentaire 90min pour A.
– des interventions radio sur F.

Les partenaires

Nous sommes en plein montage de l’expédition et en recherche de partenaires pour se joindre à nous. Si vous souhaitez vous associer à ce projet, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter via notre formulaire de contact.

Une vipère dans le massif du Matarombéo, île de Sulawesi, Indonésie.

Le massif du Matarombéo est riche d’une biodiversité exceptionnelle, mais pas toujours sans risque…

[/caption]