Konawe - Indonesia

On the island of Sulawesi, Naturevolution works to protect the last vast expanse of primary forest on the island, as well as an archipelago of small islands home to the rich marine life of the Coral Triangle.

The Matarombeo Karst on the island of Sulawesi in Indonesia

The Konawe Karsts

Southeast Sulawesi is considered one of Sulawesi's last remaining wilderness areas, home to a forest of around 700,000 hectares largely untouched. The adjacent bay of Matarape is home to some of the richest coral reefs in our oceans.

The coral reefs of Sulawesi

Sulawesi's biodiversity

Sulawesi is a biodiversity hotspot. Its forests, mangroves and coral reefs are home to species that do not exist anywhere else and are on the verge of extinction.

Plastic waste pollution in Indonesia

The threats

The Konawe karsts are almost a textbook case in terms of threats to biodiversity: deforestation, illegal fishing, mining, plastic pollution and invasive species, the count is good!

Our projects in Konawe

Since 2018, we have been carrying out two first projects to preserve the marine ecosystems of Matarape Bay. Refuse Plastic focuses on waste management and recycling, while Rainforest of the Sea targets threats to coral reefs.

For the preservation and rehabilitation of reefs in the heart of the coral triangle

Ocean pollution prevention and waste recycling in Sulawesi

For the protection of Giant Clams and the rich Coral Reefs of Sulawesi

Support the preservation of Konawe

Our local partners

Ecovolunteer mission in Indonesia

Naturevolution partners with local organizations to carry out its projects. On the protection of coral reefs, we work with Toli Toli Giant Clam Conservation, a marine conservation organization that has been involved locally for ten years. Regarding the Matarombeo massif, we have initiated a collaboration with the association Terrace Community. Finally, at the end of 2019, we created the structure Naturevolution Indonesia in order, as a first step, to carry the project Refuse Plastic. The recycling phase of this project exists thanks to the entrepreneur's unwavering motivation Setiawan Purnomo.

The expeditions

Evrard Wendenbaum led a first scientific expedition in 2014 to the foothills of the Matarombeo massif. We plan to conduct a new expedition within this massif thus to prepare a proposal for setting up a protected area.

First scientific expedition in the karstic massif of Matarombeo, on the island of Sulawesi
Matarombéo 2014 - Indonesia
First expedition in the karst massif of Matarombeo, on the island of Sulawesi
Presentation of the expeditionRoad book

Latest News

We need you !

Donate

Help protect the last areas of wildlife on the planet

Your donation is tax deductible up to 66%

high resolution version

Konawe – Indonésie

Sur l’île de Sulawesi, Naturevolution œuvre à la protection de la dernière vaste étendue de forêt primaire de l’île, ainsi que d’un archipel de petites îles abritant la riche faune marine du Triangle de Corail.

Le karst de Matarombeo sur l'île de Sulawesi en Indonésie

Les karsts du Konawe

Le sud-est de Sulawesi est considéré comme l’une des dernières zones sauvages de Sulawesi, abritant une forêt d’environ 700.000 hectares largement intacte. La baie adjacente de Matarape abrite des récifs coralliens parmi les plus riches de nos océans.

Les récifs coralliens de Sulawesi

La biodiversité de Sulawesi

Sulawesi est un hotspot de biodiversité. Ses forêts, mangroves et récifs coralliens abritent des espèces qui n’existent nulle part ailleurs et qui sont en voie d’extinction.

La pollution aux déchets plastiques en Indonésie

Les menaces

Les karsts du Konawe sont presque un cas d’école au regard des menaces pesant sur la biodiversité : déforestation, pêche illégale, exploitation minière, pollution plastique et espèces invasives, le compte est bon !

Nos projets dans le Konawe

Nous menons depuis 2018 deux premiers projets afin de préserver les écosystèmes marins de la baie de Matarape. Refuse Plastic se focalise sur la gestion et le recyclage des déchets, tandis que Rainforest of the Sea cible les menaces pesant sur les récifs coralliens.

Prévention de la pollution océanique et recyclage des déchets à Sulawesi

Pour la préservation et la réhabilitation de récifs au coeur du triangle de corail

Soutenir la préservation du Konawe

Nos partenaires locaux

Mission écovolontaire en Indonésie

Naturevolution s’associe à des organisations locales pour mener ses projets. Sur la protection des récifs coralliens, nous travaillons avec Toli Toli Giant Clam Conservation, une organisation de conservation marine impliquée localement depuis une dizaine d’années. Concernant le massif de Matarombeo, nous avons initié une collaboration avec l’association Komunitas Teras. Enfin, nous avons créé fin 2019 la structure Naturevolution Indonesia afin, dans un premier temps, de porter le projet Refuse Plastic. La phase recyclage de ce projet existe grâce à la motivation sans faille de l’entrepreneur Setiawan Purnomo.

Les expéditions

Evrard Wendenbaum a mené une première expédition scientifique en 2014 sur les contreforts du massif de Matarombeo. Nous envisageons de mener une nouvelle expédition au sein de ce massif ainsi de préparer une proposition de mise en aire protégée.

Première expédition scientifique dans le massif karstique de Matarombeo, sur l'île de Sulawesi
Matarombéo 2014 – Indonésie
Première expédition dans le massif karstique de Matarombeo, sur l’île de Sulawesi
Présentation de l’expéditionJournal de bord

Dernières actualités

Nous avons besoin de vous !

Faire un don

Contribuez à la protection de ce hotspot de biodiversité en faisant un don ponctuel ou mensuel au projet.

Votre don est déductible de vos impôts à hauteur de 66%

Aller sur le terrain