Biodiversity

Carte de Sulawesi

The island of Sulawesi represents the largest land surface of Wallacea, spanning 175,000 km² out of the 340,000 km² total area. It houses a spectacular natural heritage, through a mosaic of habitats - coral reefs, mangroves, karstic massifs, virgin or old-growth forests - in which 98% of mammals, 1/3 of birds and nearly 80% of amphibians are endemic, meaning that they are not found anywhere else.

The karsts, arks of biodiversity

The karsts constitute biotopes sheltering true arks of biodiversity, given the distinctiveness of their flora and fauna, and the multitude, fragmentation, and isolation of their habitats. These habitats exist within geological domains with drastically different ecological requirements. Some groups of plants and animals with low capacity for dispersion have hence undergone evolutionary radiations that are hyperdiversified and specific to karstic environments.

Unfortunately, karsts are in danger from humans. Protected in the past by inaccessible forests, recent deforestation and demand for natural resources have led to the exploitation of their limestone by cement plants, particularly in South-East Asia, which has the highest quarrying rate in the world.

The island of Sulawesi boasts remarkable fauna including the knobbed hornbill (Aceros cassidix, top left), the Maleo (Macrocephalon maleo, center-top left), the Babirusa (Babyrousa babyrussa, lower right) and the Spectral tarsier (Tarsius tarsier, center-bottom left). These species are endemic to Sulawesi and/or neighbouring islands and are on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. On the right are a freshwater fish, a bat, a springtail (collembola), a tropical pitcher plant (nepenthes), a grasshopper, and water snails (Hydrobia gastropod).

Sulawesi, the heart of the coral triangle

The coral triangle is considered the epicenter of the planet's marine biodiversity. In this 6 million km², there is more biodiversity than anywhere else in the world : it hosts 76% of coral species, 35% of coral reef fish, and 6 of the 7 species of marine turtles indexed across the globe.

At the heart of this coral triangle, the island of Sulawesi is equally under threat. Experts agree that 40% of coral reefs around the world have disappeared in the last 30 years due to climate change and human activity.


Mangroves, an impressive biodiversity

Indonesia is home to the largest stretch of ​​mangroves in the world. As well as hosting an abundance of biodiversity, these provide irreplaceable services to the ecosystemIn particular, they limit coastal erosion and protect coastal areas by serving as a buffer zone against cyclones and tsunamis. In addition, they sequester a substantial amount of carbon that scientists are only beginning to measure. However, their area has shrunk by 30% over the last three decades and continues to decline at a rate of 1 to 2% per year, mainly due to the expansion of shrimp farms and coastal infrastructure.

Natural habitats in decline

Overall, only 15% of Wallacea’s original natural habitats remain. With regard to biodiversity, more than 10% of its mammals, birds and amphibians are on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Nonetheless, deforestation and expansion of plantations in Sulawesi have not yet reached the same proportions as in the islands of Sumatra and Borneo, and pockets of intact forest still exist. This means potential exists for creating large protected areas rich in the biodiversity so specific to Wallacea, particularly in the Konawe area where Naturevolution is undertaking conservation work.

Répartition des forêts intactes sur l'île de Sulawesi

The intact forests of Sulawesi Island (in dark green); i.e., regions of forest untouched by humans in recent times, and sufficiently large and unfragmented to provide habitats for all of their native biodiversity, including species that require large areas. Map © Global Forest Watch

Learn more

_
English translation made possible thanks to the PerMondo project: Free translation of website and documents for non-profit organisations. A project managed by Mondo Agit. Translator: Cressida McDermott

Biodiversité

Carte de Sulawesi

L’île de Sulawesi représente la plus grande surface terrestre de la Wallacea, avec 175 000 km2 sur un total 340 000 km2. Elle abrite un fabuleux patrimoine naturel, à travers une mosaïque d’habitats – récifs coralliens, mangroves, massifs karstiques, forêts primaires – parmi lequel 98% des mammifères, 1/3 des oiseaux et près de 80% des amphibiens sont endémiques, c’est à dire qu’on ne les trouve nulle part ailleurs.

Les karsts, des arches de biodiversité

Les karsts constituent des biotopes abritant de véritables arches de biodiversité, au regard de la spécificité de leur flore et de leur faune, et de la multitude, de la fragmentation, et de l’isolement des habitats au sein d’ensembles géologiques proposant des exigences écologiques drastiquement différentes. Ainsi certains groupes à faible capacité de dispersion ont subit des radiations évolutives hyperdiversifiées et spécifiques aux milieux karstiques.

Malheureusement, les karsts sont menacés par l’homme. Autrefois protégés par les forêts et leur difficulté d’accès, la déforestation et la demande en ressources naturelles rendent leur exploitation très fréquente par les cimenteries, particulièrement en Asie du Sud-est qui présente le taux d’exploitation en carrière le plus fort du monde.

L’île de Sulawesi présente une faune remarquable dont le Calao à Cimier (Aceros cassidix, en haut à gauche), le Maleo (Macrocephalon maleo, centre-haut gauche), le Babiroussa (Babyrousa babyrussa, en bas à droite) et le Tarsier Spectre (Tarsius tarsier, centre-bas gauche). Ces espèces sont endémiques du Sulawesi et/ou des îles voisines et figurent dans la liste rouge mondiale des espèces menacées de l’UICN. A droite on retrouve un poisson d’eau douce, une chauve-souris, des collemboles, une nepenthes, une sauterelle et des gastéropodes hydrobies.

Sulawesi, le cœur du triangle de corail

Le triangle de corail est considéré comme l’épicentre de la biodiversité marine de la planète. Avec ces 6 millions de km2, il possède plus de biodiversité que partout ailleurs dans le monde : 76% des espèces de coraux, 35% des poissons de récifs coralliens, et 6 des 7 espèces de tortues marines répertoriées dans le monde.

L’île de Sulawesi se trouve en plein cœur de ce triangle de corail, également menacé. Les experts s’accordent en effet pour dire que 40% des récifs coralliens à travers le monde ont disparu dans les 30 dernières années à cause du changement climatique et des activités anthropiques.


Les mangroves, une biodiversité impressionnante

L’Indonésie possède la plus large étendue de mangroves au monde. En plus d’héberger une biodiversité foisonnante, celles-ci assurent des services écosystémiques irremplaçables. Elles limitent notamment l’érosion côtière et protègent les côtes et les populations en servant de zone tampon face aux cyclones et aux tsunamis. Par ailleurs, elles séquestrent une quantité impressionante de carbone que les scientifiques commencent tout juste à mesurer. Mais leur surface s’est réduite de 30 % au cours des trois dernières décennies et continue de régresser au rythme de 1 à 2 % par an, principalement en raison de l’extension des fermes d’élevage de crevettes et des projets d’infrastructures côtières.

Des habitats naturels en recul

Globalement, il ne resterait que 15% des habitats naturels sur l’ensemble de la Wallacea. En terme de biodiversité, plus de 10% des mammifères, oiseaux et amphibiens figurent dans la liste rouge mondiale des espèces menacées de l’UICN. Néanmoins, si l’on compare Sulawesi avec les îles de Sumatra et de Borneo, la déforestation et l’expansion des plantations n’y atteint pas les mêmes proportions, et des poches de forêts intactes sont encore présentes, offrant la perspective de créer de grandes aires protégées riches en cette biodiversité si spécifique de la Wallacea, notamment dans le Konawe où Naturevolution mène des actions de conservation.

Répartition des forêts intactes sur l'île de Sulawesi

Les forêts intactes (en vert foncé) de l’île de Sulawesi, c’est à dire des étendues de forêts non altérées récemment par l’homme et suffisamment vastes et non-fragmentées pour fournir un habitat à l’ensemble de sa biodiversité d’origine, y compris les espèces nécessitant de grands territoires. Carte © Global Forest Watch

Pour en savoir plus

_
English translation made possible thanks to the PerMondo project: Free translation of website and documents for non-profit organisations. A project managed by Mondo Agit. Translator: Cressida McDermott