The Arctic

Often portrayed as harsh and extreme, the Arctic and its vast territories remain a relatively little-explored area of our planet and host some of its most emblematic species.

This is also one of the most affected by climate change : if, these last years, some all-time highs in global temperature were recorded, warming in arctic areas is almost twice as fast as anywhere else. Melting of sea ice is opening new perspectives for the exploitation of natural ressources and the opening of new trade routes. In parallel, polar areas are becoming increasingly popular tourism destinations. All these human developments taking place amidst territories initially hosting little or no population risk affecting the fragile balance upon which arctic ecosystems rely.

Greenland

Very close to Europe and North America, the huge island of Greenland is singular for many reasons. With the exception of a narrow jagged coastline of majestic fjords, its surface is completely covered with a icecap of over 2000 meters thick.

In the summer of 2016, Naturevolution led a first multidisciplinary scientific expedition in the Scoresby Sund, the largest fjord system in the world, located on the east coast of Greenland. Check out more our Lost Worlds expeditions website about the Mission Scoresby 2016 as well as the roadbook of the expedition.

The Edward Bailey glacier on the Renland peninsula (Scoresby Sund, Greenland).

Arctique

Souvent dépeint comme extrème et hostile, l’Arctique et ses gigantesques territoires restent une région peu fréquentée de notre planète, abritant certaines des espèces les plus emblématiques de notre planète. C’est aussi l’une des plus affectée par le changement climatique : si, ces dernières années, la température globale à la surface de la terre a enregistrée plusieurs records, le réchauffement est dans les zones arctiques presque deux fois plus rapide qu’ailleurs. Le recul de la banquise ouvre de nouvelles perspectives pour l’exploitation des ressources naturelles et l’ouverture de routes commerciales. En parallèle, les régions polaires deviennent des destinations touristiques en vogue. Tout ces nouvelles activités prenant place au sein de territoires autrefois déserts risquent d’affecter le délicat équilibre sur lequel reposent les écosystèmes arctiques.

Le Groenland

Très proche de l’Europe et de l’Amérique du Nord, l’immense île du Groenland est singulière par de nombreuses raisons. A l’exception d’une étroite bande côtière dentelée de fjords majestueux, sa surface est intégralement recouverte d’une calotte polaire de plus de 2000m d’altitude.

A l’été 2016, Naturevolution a mené une première expédition scientifique transdisciplinaire dans le Scoresby Sund, le plus grand système de fjords au monde, situé sur la côte est du Groenland. Retrouvez sur notre site Lost Worlds la présentation de la Mission Scoresby 2016 ainsi que le journal de bord de l’expédition.

Le glacier Edward Bailey sur la péninsule du Renland (Scoresby Sund, Groenland).